Your cat doesn't eat (anymore): Causes, symptoms, treatments & preventive measures.

Your cat no longer eats regularly? Many cat owners have already experienced this. Although the cat always stands in front of the bowl and waits, it suddenly stops eating for no apparent reason. It is normal for a cat to stop eating every now and then, but at what point should you really start to worry?

Article from
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM
Table of contents

Why doesn't my cat eat anymore?

If a cat does not want to eat, this is medically called inappetence or anorexia. Cats are generally not allowed to stay fasting for a period of 24 hours, because physical organ damage can be the result. If a cat does not eat for a longer period of time, even the feeling of hunger will decrease. We can help you to find out what is possible and what causes might be behind it.

Cause of the strike while eating

Cats are creatures of habit. If something changes in everyday life, they can suddenly stop eating . In principle, however, a refusal to eat should always be questioned and the cause determined. Here are the top 9 reasons why a cat stops eating:

  1. Feeding-related: Has the feed been changed from wet to dry feed or have you changed the taste or type of feed? Cats are often very fussy and may stop eating after a change of food. In principle: A change of food should take place very slowly over several weeks. Especially the wet food should always be fresh and moist. If the wet food becomes dry because it has been standing too long, it is rarely eaten.
  2. Stress: Have you had any changes in your household recently, like new furniture or renovation work, or has a new pet or person moved in? Stress is often a reason why your cat does not eat anymore. This can even be caused by changing the position of the feeding bowl. Also, the heat can cause a lot of stress, which is why the cat stops eating.
  3. Dental diseases or mouth infections: Tartar or inflammation of the mouth, often leads to cats stopping eating. Salivation, difficulty chewing or avoiding dry food are often signs of dental disease. Mouth inflammation, caused by viruses or bacteria, can cause pain and make it difficult to eat.
  4. Fever: Especially in the case of people who are outdoors, causes Fever ...often a gluttony. We have written a separate article about this which can help you further.
  5. Infections: viral diseases like FIP, FeLV or FIV can cause loss of appetite in the cat.
  6. Parasites: Has your cat had any symptoms recently, like diarrhea or vomiting? A worm infestation as well as Giardia can be one of the triggers.
  7. Organ diseases: Especially with older cats a Renal insufficiencyliver problems, or a Constipation will make the cat stop eating. Medication that the cat is already taking may also cause the cat to stop eating.
  8. Is your cat a outdoor cat or a domestic cat? Outdoor cats can be fed by the neighbors or be fed by hunting. If she still looks fit after the outdoor exercise, he may be full.
  9. Poisoning: Even poisoning can cause your cat to not eat. Does she also show other symptoms such as salivation, vomiting, trembling or cramping? Then all alarm bells should go off!

Symptoms when cat stops eating

Inappetence may occur in the cat alone or in combination with other symptoms. For the most part, and especially in young animals, an inability to eat occurs when the food has been changed abruptly. A change of food should never be abrupt in the cat, but over several weeks. If your cat shows other symptoms, the cause should be found as soon as possible. Such symptoms are for example:

  • Vomiting
  • Saliva
  • Diarrhoea
  • Cramps
  • Strangling

In contrast to the dog, it is life-threatening in cats if they do not eat for a longer period of time. If your cat is fasting for more than 24 hours, this could lead to fatty liver (hepatic lipidosis). This is a life-threatening condition! Especially older cats as well as kittens should be worried earlier and not wait too long.

Remember: A cat should never stay sober for more than 24 hours.
Source: Nils Jacobi/Shutterstock.com


Diagnosis and therapy

In order to treat the cat's inability to eat properly, one should always find the cause. A general examination, especially of the mouth cavity, should always take place. Also the condition and weight of the animal should be checked. However, often a blood test or an x-ray is necessary to find the cause of the overeating disorder.

What often helps in a cat that does not eat is force feeding. All of us have had the stomach flu and know that smaller portions of food can stimulate the appetite again. The gastrointestinal tract stabilizes and the cat gets hungry again.

Prevention so that your cat always eats

In general, to avoid environmental factors that lead to feeding boredom, don't change very much in the household or in feeding habits. Changing food too often can cause your cat to develop gastrointestinal problems. Deworming to protect against parasites, as well as regular vaccinations for outdoor cats, can help keep your cat healthy. Whether a Vaccination is useful for your cat you can read in this article read. Older cats should have an annual blood test to detect kidney and liver problems, Thyroid- and liver problems early. In many cases, however, a detailed diagnosis must be made, so that it can be found out why your four-legged friend no longer eats. Also with free roamers, who often fight and carry out territorial fights, one should consider whether this makes sense.

If you are unsure and would like to learn more about Dr. SAM - just click on the link and you will receive further insights into our work.

Best regards,
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
- Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM

Table of contents
Article from
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM
SPEAK NOW VET AT WHATSAPP

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.
  1. asdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg sad sdf dsf sdf shdf kjsdhf ksdkhf jdhjfskjdfhsjkdfh sdf hsfhsdjkf hsjkdfh sdfh sjkdfh sjdhfjsdf hjskdhf sjdfh sjd hfsdfh jsdhfjkshdfj hjsdhf sjdfh sd fsd fhksjd hfjshdf jkhdsjkhf jskdh fsdjkhf
  2. asdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg
  3. asdasdasdsad
  4. asdasd

  • sad sfd gfdh fdg asd sdf ffgh dg hd dfgfdgdfgdfgdfgfd g g g fd g dfg fd gfd gfd gfd fdg df gfd gd fg d fgd fgd df gdf gd fg df gdfg fdg fdfdg df gdf g dfg df df gdgf
  • fd
  • gdfg
  • df
  • g d
  • fg
  • df

What's a Rich Text element?

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.

Static and dynamic content editing

A rich text element can be used with static or dynamic content. For static content, just drop it into any page and begin editing. For dynamic content, add a rich text field to any collection and then connect a rich text element to that field in the settings panel. Voila!

How to customize formatting for each rich text

Headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, figures, images, and figure captions can all be styled after a class is added to the rich text element using the "When inside of" nested selector system.

More articles

More knowledge

Still unsure?
Talk to one of Dr. SAM's vets right away.

Talk to your vet now using WhatsApp
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

At the moment Dr. SAM is at night and is not available.

Our daily office hours are
Monday through Sunday: 8am

- midnight Love,
your team of Dr. SAM

Ask your question directly to a vet via WhatsApp!
Chat now

Deine Katze frisst nicht - Daran kann es liegen.

Viele Katzenbesitzer haben das schon erlebt. Obwohl die Katze immer vorm Napf steht und wartet, verweigert sie auf einmal die Nahrung, ohne erkennbaren Grund. Es ist normal, dass die Katze ab und zu eine Mahlzeit aussetzt, aber ab wann sollte man sich Sorgen machen?

Artikel von
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Tierarzt/Tierärztin bei Dr. SAM
Inhaltsverzeichnis

Definition

Wenn eine Katze nicht fressen möchte, bezeichnet man das medizinisch als Inappetenz oder Anorexie. Katzen dürfen generell nicht über einen Zeitraum von 24 Stunden nüchtern bleiben, da körperliche Organschäden die Folge sein können. Wenn eine Katze über einen längeren Zeitraum nichts frisst, lässt sogar das Hungergefühl nach. Wir helfen dir dabei herauszufinden, was alles in Frage kommt und welche Ursachen dahinterstecken könnten.

Ursache

Katzen sind Gewohnheitstiere. Wenn sich etwas im Alltag verändert, können sie plötzlich aufhören zu fressen. Prinzipiell sollte aber eine Nahrungsverweigerung immer hinterfragt und die Ursache ermittelt werden. Hier sind die Top 8 Ursachen, weswegen eine Katze nicht mehr frisst:

  1. Fütterungsbedingt: Wurde das Futter von Nass- auf Trockenfutter umgestellt oder hast du die Geschmacksrichtung oder Futtersorte geändert? Katzen sind oft sehr wählerisch und können nach einer Futterumstellung aufhören zu fressen. Prinzipiell gilt: Eine Futterumstellung sollte bei der Katze, über mehrere Wochen ganz langsam stattfinden. Besonders das Nassfutter sollte immer frisch und feucht sein. Wenn das Nassfutter trocken wird, weil es zu lange steht, wird es selten gefressen.
  2. Stress: Hattest du in der letzten Zeit irgendwelche Veränderungen im Haushalt, wie neue Möbel oder Renovierungsarbeiten oder ist zum Beispiel ein neues Haustier oder ein Mensch neu eingezogen? Stress ist oft eine Ursache, weswegen deine Katze nicht mehr frisst. Dieser kann sogar durch das Umstellen des Fressnapfes ausgelöst werden. Auch die Rolligkeit, kann bei der Katze einen enormen Stress auslösen, weswegen sie mit dem Fressen aufhört.
  3. Zahnerkrankungen oder Maulentzündungen: Zahnstein oder Entzündungen im Maulbereich, führen oft dazu, dass Katzen das Fressen einstellen. Speicheln, Schwierigkeiten beim Kauen oder das Vermeiden von Trockenfutter, sind oft Anzeichen einer Zahnerkrankung. Maulentzündungen, bedingt durch Viren oder Bakterien, können Schmerzen verursachen und somit das Fressen erschweren.
  4. Fieber: Insbesondere bei Freigängern, verursacht Fieber oft Fressunlust. Dazu haben wir einen gesonderten Artikel verfasst, der dir weiterhelfen kann.
  5. Parasiten: Hatte deine Katze in der letzten Zeit Symptome wie Durchfall oder Erbrechen? Ein Wurmbefall sowie Giardien können unter anderem der Auslöser sein.
  6. Organerkrankungen: Insbesondere bei älteren Katzen kann eine Niereninsuffizienz, Leberprobleme oder eine Verstopfung dazu führen, dass die Katze nicht mehr frisst. Auch Medikamente, die die Katze bereits nimmt, können dazu führen, dass die Katze nicht mehr fressen möchte.
  7. Ist deine Katze ein Freigänger oder eine Hauskatze? Freigänger können durch die Nachbarsfütterung oder durch das Jagen schon satt sein. Wenn sie nach dem Freigang noch einen fitten Eindruck macht, ist er womöglich satt.
  8. Vergiftungen: Auch Vergiftungen können dazu führen, dass deine Katze nicht frisst. Zeigt sie auch andere Symptome wie Speicheln, Erbrechen, Zittern oder Krampfen? Dann sollten alle Alarmglocken angehen!

Symptome und Diagnose

Eine Inappetenz kann bei der Katze alleine oder in Kombination mit anderen Symptomen auftreten. Zum größten Teil und besonders bei jungen Tieren, kommt eine Fressunlust vor, wenn das Futter abrupt umgestellt wurde. Ein Futterwechsel sollte bei der Katze nie abrupt stattfinden, sondern über mehrere Wochen hinweg. Wenn deine Katze noch andere Symptome zeigt, sollte die Ursache schnellstmöglich gefunden werden. Solche Symptome sind zum Beispiel:

  • Erbrechen
  • Speicheln
  • Durchfall
  • Krämpfe
  • Würgen

Im Gegensatz zum Hund, ist es bei Katzen lebensgefährlich, wenn sie über einen längeren Zeitraum nicht mehr fressen. Wenn deine Katze länger als 24 Stunden nüchtern ist, könnte dies zu einer Leberverfettung führen (hepatische Lipidose). Das ist ein lebensbedrohlicher Zustand! Besonders bei älteren Katzen sowie bei Kitten sollte man sich auch früher Sorgen machen und nicht zu lange warten.

Denk dran: Eine Katze sollte nie länger als 24 Stunden nüchtern bleiben.
Quelle: Nils Jacobi/Shutterstock.com


Therapie

Um die Fressunlust bei der Katze angemessen zu therapieren, sollte man immer die Ursache finden. Eine allgemeine Untersuchung, insbesondere der Maulhöhle, sollte immer stattfinden. Auch der Zustand und das Gewicht des Tieres sollten kontrolliert werden. Oft ist allerdings eine Blutuntersuchung oder eine Röntgenaufnahme erforderlich, um die Ursache für die Fressunlust zu finden.

Was bei einer Katze, die nicht frisst oft hilft ist eine Zwangsfütterung. Jeder von uns hatte schon mal eine Magen-Darm-Grippe und weiß, dass kleinere Portionen Essen, den Appetit wieder anregen können. Der Magen-Darm-Trakt stabilisiert sich und die Katze bekommt wieder Hunger.

Vorbeugung

Um Umweltfaktoren zu vermeiden, die zur Fressunlust führen, sollte man generell nicht sehr viel im Haushalt oder an den Füttergewohnheiten verändern. Zu häufiger Futterwechsel kann dazu führen, dass deine Katze Probleme mit dem Magen-Darm-Trakt bekommt. Eine Entwurmung zum Schutz vor Parasiten sowie die regelmäßige Impfung bei Freigängern kann dazu beitragen deine Katze gesund zu erhalten. Ob eine Impfung bei deiner Katze sinnvoll ist kannst du in diesem Artikel lesen. Bei älteren Katzen sollte jährlich eine Blutuntersuchung erfolgen, um Nieren-, Schilddrüsen- sowie Leberprobleme vorzeitig zu erkennen. In vielen Fällen muss jedoch eine ausführliche Diagnostik gemacht werden, damit herausgefunden werden kann, weswegen dein Vierbeiner nicht mehr frisst. Auch bei Freigängern, die sich oft prügeln und Revierkämpfe durchführen, sollte man sich überlegen ob das Sinn ergibt.

Bist du dir unsicher und würdest du gern mehr über Dr. SAM erfahren - klicke einfach den Link an und erhalte weitere Einblicke in unsere Arbeit.

Liebe Grüße,
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
- Tierarzt bei Dr. SAM

Inhaltsverzeichnis
Artikel von
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Tierarzt/Tierärztin bei Dr. SAM
JETZT TIERARZT IM WHATSAPP SPRECHEN

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.
  1. asdasdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg sad sdf dsf sdf shdf kjsdhf ksdkhf jdhjfskjdfhsjkdfh sdf hsfhsdjkf hsjkdfh sdfh sjkdfh sjdhfjsdf hjskdhf sjdfh sjd hfsdfh jsdhfjkshdfj hjsdhf sjdfh sd fsd fhksjd hfjshdf jkhdsjkhf jskdh fsdjkhf
  2. asdasdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg
  3. asdasdasdsad
  4. asdasd

  • sad sfd gfdh fdg asd sdf ffgh dg hd dfgfdgdfgdfgdfgfd g g fd g dfg fd gfd gfd g fdg df gfd gd fg d fgd fgd df gdf gd fg df gdfg fdg fdfdg df gdf g dfg df df gdgf
  • fd
  • gdfg
  • df
  • g d
  • fg
  • df

What’s a Rich Text element?

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.

Static and dynamic content editing

A rich text element can be used with static or dynamic content. For static content, just drop it into any page and begin editing. For dynamic content, add a rich text field to any collection and then connect a rich text element to that field in the settings panel. Voila!

How to customize formatting for each rich text

Headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, figures, images, and figure captions can all be styled after a class is added to the rich text element using the "When inside of" nested selector system.

Noch unsicher?
Sprich sofort mit einem Tierarzt von Dr. SAM

Jetzt Tierarzt per WhatsApp sprechen
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Zur Zeit ist Dr. SAM in der Nachtruhe und ist nicht verfügbar.

Unsere täglichen Sprechzeiten lauten:
Montag bis Sonntag: 8 - 24Uhr

Liebe Grüße,
dein Team von Dr. SAM

Stelle deine Frage direkt per WhatsApp einem Tierarzt!
Jetzt chatten