Cat cold: definition, causes, symptoms & tips for prevention

Your cat sneezes frequently and also has a slight nasal discharge? If this is the case, then action should be taken early, because it is very likely to be a cat cold. The term seems harmless in itself, but this is a real danger. It can lead to a fatal course of the disease in your cat. We at Dr Sam explain the causes, the symptoms and give you tips for prevention.

Article from
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM
Table of contents

What is cat cold?

The term cat cold (rhinitis) refers to an acute or chronic inflammation of the nasal mucosa. Sneezing, on the other hand, is an explosive expulsion of air from the nose. This is triggered by a sneezing reflex when certain factors irritate the nose. It is important to know whether nasal discharge is emitted afterwards or not.

The backward sneeze, however, is something completely different! Here, the cat sucks air through its nose. It is therefore the opposite!

This natural herbal mixture was developed by our vets especially for cats to strengthen their defences, to support them in stressful situations, in the case of colds and bladder infections and in the case of age-related reduced activity of the immune system. The medicinal plants used contain special active ingredients which promote the function of the body's own immune defences and support long-term well-being. Thus, the immune system can also be supported and strengthened preventively.

5 important causes of nasal discharge

Cat cold is unfortunately highly contagious and is usually transmitted from cat to cat. The transmission can take place when a cat coughs or sneezes. It is also possible that through a common feeding place it can also come to a transmission of saliva and secretions.

Here we explain now the most important causes, which are responsible for the nasal discharge of the cat:

  1. Feline rhinotracheitis: This is the most common cause of nasal discharge in cats. It is a collective name for contagious diseases of the respiratory tract. It is a symptom complex because viruses (herpes and caliciviruses) and bacteria (chlamydia, bordetella and mycoplasma) are often involved.
  2. Dental disease is also one of the most common causes of nasal discharge. Poor dental health also spreads outside the mouth. Tooth root abscesses/granulomas or oronasal fistula (tube-like connection between mouth and nose) can also be the cause.
  3. With outdoor cats, foreign objects can often hide in the nose. If your cat walks through a cornfield or meadow, awns can get stuck in the nose. Due to the fine barbs it is impossible for the cat to sneeze them out.
  4. Tumours or fungal diseases in the nose often cause nasal discharge in cats. The decisive factor is whether this nasal discharge comes from only one or from both nostrils. In the case of a tumour or a fungal disease, the nasal discharge is usually unilateral.
  5. Also Allergies or autoimmune diseases (lymphoplasmacytic rhinitis) may be responsible. Have you maybe changed the cat litter lately? Is there perhaps a new source of dust in your home, like a construction site? These are all factors that can cause nasal discharge.

Symptoms and diagnosis when cat has sniffles

But how do you know if your cat really has cat cold or if it's just a mild cold?

If your cat is really suffering from the common cold, then it is an infectious disease. Depending on the pathogen, different symptoms appear such as:

  • Cat sneezes
  • Nasal discharge clear at the beginning, later yellowish-green
  • Apathy
  • Loss of appetite
  • Fever
  • Swollen or watery eyes
  • Swallowing difficulties
  • Cough

In most cases, the pathogens are transmitted from cat to cat or through infected objects. Mostly the first symptoms appear after 24 hours.

Ask our specialized vets to find out what your cat has! Dr. SAM's veterinarians are specialized in telemedicine and can assess the symptoms and provide immediate help through telephone and video consultations on your mobile phone!


If you have the feeling that your cat has a cat cold, contact the vet immediately! It can be life-threatening and is not a simple infection, like with us humans!

The following table shows you which infectious agents are possible and which symptoms are more pronounced:

Dental diseases are not only manifested by sneezing or nasal discharge. Often your cat has problems chewing (like flinging his head), salivates or doesn't want to eat. Unfortunately, a simple examination of the mouth can not always give information whether there is something. It is not uncommon to have to do an x-ray or CT scan to find out about certain conditions. Especially because the roots of the teeth are connected to the sinuses, complicated disease processes can take place inside the skull.

Also tumors or foreign bodies in the nose, can only be diagnosed by endoscopy. However, your cat would have to be put under anaesthesia.

Therapy options

The cat cold should definitely be treated especially if you have a kitten or an older cat. Untreated rhinitis can cause secondary damage such as chronic nasal discharge, eye problems(ulcers) or pneumonia. 

The following therapy options are available:

  • Antiviral drugs: usually in the form of eye drops or eye ointments.
  • Antibiotic treatment: Whether as a primary cause of cat sniffles or due to secondary infections, antibiotics are helpful to fight the bacteria
  • Antibody Serum (Feliserin Plus): These antibodies help your cat's immune system to fight the viruses more efficiently and alleviate symptoms.
  • Immune booster for cats. A natural herbal mixture specially developed for your cat. See the paragraph "natural therapy against cat cold".

Give your kitten lots of love and affection. A familiar environment with little stress will speed up the healing process! For puppies, a red light lamp will significantly speed up the healing process. Certain herbs, such as sage, will liquefy the mucus so that your kitten can breathe more easily.

Dental disease may ever require surgical intervention (surgery). Make sure that your vet is familiar with dental diseases.

Allergies are usually only recognised after all other symptoms have been ruled out. It is often related to a change in the environment or home (new cat litter, more dust than usual, new detergent). Food intolerances do not cause sneezing or nasal discharge.

Tumours or foreign bodies usually have to be examined under anaesthesia and can be removed directly if necessary.

Shutterstock.com / Real Moment

Natural therapy against cat cold

Strengthening the immune system plays a very important role in keeping your cat healthy. There are specially formulated herbal blends that have been proven to strengthen your cat's immune system. This natural herbal mixture was developed by our veterinarians specifically for cats to strengthen the immune system. Our Immunbooster herbal blend for cats should be used for the following indications:

  • For support in stressful situations
  • For colds and bladder infections
  • For age-related reduced activity of the immune system
  • Preventive to strengthen the immune system

The medicinal plants used contain special active ingredients that promote the function of the body's immune defenses and support the well-being in the long term. Thus, the immune system can also be supported and strengthened preventively. The medicinal plants can therefore not only fight cat colds but also prevent them at the same time.

You can easily order our immune booster for cats in our shop.


Prevention of cat cold

To keep your pet healthy, make sure her immune system is strong. Stress can severely weaken the immune system in cats! Cats that are already infected with cat flu pathogens can have an acute flare-up when stressed. These 5 signs will tell you that your cat is stressed:

  1. Loss of appetite
  2. Excessive cleaning
  3. Aggressions
  4. Lack of cleanliness: Mishaps outside the litter box are very often a sign of stress!
  5. Hide

The vaccination is the best preventive measure to protect your pet from cat flu. Although a vaccination does not always protect against infection, the symptoms are much milder in vaccinated animals.

Remember to clean the nose and the eyes of your cat from from incrustations. You can use a damp handkerchief for this.

Use our Immune booster for catsto strengthen the immune system preventively.

  • This natural herbal mixture was developed by our vets especially for cats to strengthen their defences, to support them in stressful situations, in the case of colds and bladder infections and in the case of age-related reduced activity of the immune system. The medicinal plants used contain special active ingredients which promote the function of the body's own immune defences and support long-term well-being. Thus, the immune system can also be supported and strengthened preventively.

Dental diseases can be prevented by an annual examination of the oral cavity. You can combine this well with the vaccination.

Please note that preventive measures against sneezing and nasal discharge should only be taken after your individual case has been clarified by a veterinarian.

If you are unsure and would like to learn more about Dr. SAM - just click on the link and you will receive further insights into our work.

Best regards,
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
- Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM

Table of contents
Article from
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM
SPEAK NOW VET AT WHATSAPP

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.
  1. asdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg sad sdf dsf sdf shdf kjsdhf ksdkhf jdhjfskjdfhsjkdfh sdf hsfhsdjkf hsjkdfh sdfh sjkdfh sjdhfjsdf hjskdhf sjdfh sjd hfsdfh jsdhfjkshdfj hjsdhf sjdfh sd fsd fhksjd hfjshdf jkhdsjkhf jskdh fsdjkhf
  2. asdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg
  3. asdasdasdsad
  4. asdasd

  • sad sfd gfdh fdg asd sdf ffgh dg hd dfgfdgdfgdfgdfgfd g g g fd g dfg fd gfd gfd gfd fdg df gfd gd fg d fgd fgd df gdf gd fg df gdfg fdg fdfdg df gdf g dfg df df gdgf
  • fd
  • gdfg
  • df
  • g d
  • fg
  • df

What's a Rich Text element?

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.

Static and dynamic content editing

A rich text element can be used with static or dynamic content. For static content, just drop it into any page and begin editing. For dynamic content, add a rich text field to any collection and then connect a rich text element to that field in the settings panel. Voila!

How to customize formatting for each rich text

Headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, figures, images, and figure captions can all be styled after a class is added to the rich text element using the "When inside of" nested selector system.

More articles

More knowledge

Still unsure?
Talk to one of Dr. SAM's vets right away.

Talk to your vet now using WhatsApp
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

At the moment Dr. SAM is at night and is not available.

Our daily office hours are
Monday through Sunday: 8am

- midnight Love,
your team of Dr. SAM

Ask your question directly to a vet via WhatsApp!
Chat now

Katzenschnupfen: Definition, Ursachen, Symptome & Tipps zur Vorbeugung

Deine Katze niest öfters und hat zusätzlich auch noch einen leichten Nasenausfluss? Falls dies der Fall ist, dann sollte auch frühzeitig gehandelt werden, denn es handelt sich daher sehr wahrscheinlich um ein Katzenschnupfen. Der Begriff wirkt an sich harmlos, jedoch ist hiermit wirklich Gefahr in Verzug. Es kann nämlich hierbei zu einem tödlichen Krankheitsverlauf bei deiner Katze kommen. Wir von Dr Sam erklären dir hierbei die Ursachen, die auftretenden Symptome und geben dir Tipps zur Vorbeugung.

Artikel von
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Tierarzt/Tierärztin bei Dr. SAM
Inhaltsverzeichnis

Was ist Katzenschnupfen?

Unter dem Begriff Katzenschnupfen (Rhinitis) wird eine akute oder chronische Entzündung der Nasenschleimhaut bezeichnet. Hingegen handelt es sich beim Niesen um eine explosionsartiges Ausstoßen von Luft aus der Nase. Dieses wird durch einen Niesreflex ausgelöst, wenn bestimmte Faktoren die Nase reizen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, ob im Anschluss, Nasenausfluss austritt oder nicht.

Das Rückwärtsniesen hingegen ist was ganz anderes! Hierbei saugt die Katze stoßartig Luft durch ihre Nase. Es ist somit das Gegenteil!

Diese natürliche Kräutermischung wurde von unseren Tierärzten speziell für Katzen zur Stärkung der Abwehrkräfte entwickelt, zur Unterstützung in Stresssituationen, bei Erkältungen und Blasenentzündungen und bei altersbedingt eingeschränkter Aktivität des Immunsystems. Die verwendeten Heilpflanzen enthalten spezielle Wirkstoffe, welche die Funktion der körpereigenen Immunabwehr fördern und das Wohlbefinden langfristig unterstützen. So kann das Immunsystem auch vorbeugend unterstützt und gestärkt werden.

5 wichtige Ursachen für Nasenausfluss

Katzenschnupfen ist leider höchst ansteckend und wird meist übertragen von Katze zu Katze. Die Übertragung kann stattfinden, wenn eine Katze hustet oder niest. Auch ist es möglich, dass durch einen gemeinsamen Futterplatz es ebenso zu einer Übertragung von Speichel und Sekreten kommen kann.

Hier erklären wir nun die wichtigsten Ursachen, welche für den Nasenausfluss der Katze verantwortlich sind:

  1. Katzenschnupfen (Feline Rhinotracheitis): Hierbei handelt es sich um die häufigste Ursache des Nasenausflusses bei der Katze. Es handelt sich um eine Sammelbezeichnung für ansteckende Erkrankungen der Atemwege. Es ist ein Symptomkomplex, weil oft Viren (Herpes- und Caliciviren) sowie Bakterien (Chlamydien, Bordetellen und Mykoplasmen) beteiligt sind.
  2. Zahnerkrankungen gehören auch zu den häufigsten Ursachen des Nasenausflusses. Schlechte Zahngesundheit breitet sich auch außerhalb des Mauls aus. Zahnwurzelabszesse/ -granulome oder oronasale Fistel (röhrenartige Verbindung zwischen Mund und Nase) können auch die Ursache sein.
  3. Bei Freigängern können sich oft Fremdkörper in der Nase verstecken. Spaziert deine Katze durch ein Kornfeld oder Wiese, können sich Grannen in die Nase einnisten. Aufgrund der feinen Widerhaken ist es für die Katze unmöglich diese dann auszuniesen.
  4. Tumoren oder Pilzerkrankungen in der Nase sorgen auch oft dafür, dass Katzen Nasenausfluss bekommen. Entscheidend dabei ist es, ob dieser Nasenausfluss aus nur einem oder aus beiden Nasenlöchern kommt. Bei einem Tumor oder einer Pilzerkrankung ist der Nasenausfluss meistens einseitig.
  5. Auch Allergien oder Autoimmunerkrankungen (lymphoplasmazelluläre Rhinitis) können verantwortlich für die Ursache sein. Hast du vielleicht in der letzten Zeit das Katzenstreu gewechselt? Gibt es vielleicht eine neue Staubquelle bei dir zu Hause, wie eine Baustelle? Das sind alles Faktoren, welche den Ausfluss der Nase verursachen können.

Symptome und Diagnose

Woher weißt du aber, ob deine Katze wirklich Katzenschnupfen hat oder ob es sich nur um eine leichte Erkältung handelt?

Falls deine Katze wirklich unter Schnupfen leidet, dann handelt es sich um eine infektiöse Krankheit. Je nach Erreger zeigen sich unterschiedliche Symptome wie:

  • Niesen
  • Nasenausfluss am Anfang klar, später gelblich-grün
  • Teilnahmslosigkeit
  • Appetitlosigkeit
  • Fieber
  • Angeschwollene oder tränende Augen
  • Schluckbeschwerden
  • Husten

In den meisten Fällen überträgt man die Erreger von Katze zu Katze oder durch infizierte Gegenstände. Meistens treten die ersten Symptome nach 24 Stunden auf.

Frag unsere spezialisierten Tierärzte um herauszufinden, was deine Katze hat! Die Tierärzte von Dr. SAM sind in der Telemedizin spezialisiert und können Anhand von Telefon- und Videoberatungen über dein Handy die Symptome einschätzen und dir sofortige Hilfe bieten!


Wenn du das Gefühl hast, dass deine Katze an Katzenschnupfen erkrankt ist, melde dich sofort beim Tierarzt! Es kann lebensbedrohlich sein und ist nicht ein einfacher Infekt, wie bei uns Menschen!

Die folgende Tabelle, zeigt dir welche Infektionserreger infrage kommen und welche Symptome ausgeprägter sind:

Zahnerkrankungen äußern sich nicht nur durch Niesen oder Nasenausfluss. Oft hat deine Katze, Probleme beim Kauen (wie schleudern mit dem Kopf) speichelt oder möchte nicht fressen. Leider kann eine einfache Untersuchung des Mauls nicht immer Auskunft geben, ob da was ist. Nicht selten muss ein Röntgenbild oder ein CT gemacht werden, um bestimmte Erkrankungen herauszufinden. Insbesondere dadurch, dass die Zahnwurzeln mit den Nasennebenhöhlen verbunden sind, können komplizierte Krankheitsgeschehen im Schädelinneren stattfinden.

Auch Tumoren oder Fremdkörper in der Nase, können nur durch Endoskopie diagnostiziert werden. Deine Katze müsste allerdings in Narkose gelegt werden

Therapiemöglichkeiten

Der Katzenschnupfen sollte definitiv behandelt werden insbesondere, wenn du einen Katzenwelpen oder eine ältere Katze hast. Bei einem unbehandelten Schnupfen können Folgeschäden entstehen, wie chronischer Nasenausfluss, Augenprobleme (Ulcus) oder Lungenentzündungen. 

Folgende Therapiemöglichkeiten stehen zur Auswahl:

  • Antivirale Medikamenten: meist als Augentropfen oder Augensalben.
  • Antibiotische Behandlung: Ob als primäre Ursache des Katzenschnupfens oder aufgrund von Sekundärinfektionen, sind Antibiotika hilfreich die Bakterien zu bekämpfen
  • Antikörper-Serum (Feliserin-Plus): Diese Antikörper helfen dem Immunsystem deiner Katze, die Viren effizienter zu bekämpfen und mildern die Symptome.
  • Immunbooster für Katzen. Eine natürliche Kräutermischung speziell für deine Katze entwickelt. Siehe dazu den Absatz "natürliche Therapie gegen Katzenschnupfen".

Gebe deinem Kätzchen viel Liebe und Zuneigung. Eine vertraute Umgebung mit wenig Stress beschleunigt den Heilungsverlauf! Bei Welpen wird der Heilungsverlauf durch eine Rotlichtlampe deutlich beschleunigt. Bestimmte Kräuter wie Salbei, verflüssigen den Schleim so, dass dein Kätzchen besser atmen kann.

Bei Zahnerkrankungen kann je ein operativer Eingriff (OP) nötig sein. Vergewissere dich, dass dein Tierarzt sich mit Zahnerkrankungen gut auskennt.

Allergien erkennt man meistens erst, wenn alle anderen Symptome ausgeschlossen wurden. Oft steht sie in Zusammenhang mit einer Änderung in der Umgebung oder Wohnung (neues Katzenstreu, mehr Staub als sonst, neues Waschmittel). Futtermittelunverträglichkeiten verursachen kein Niesen oder Nasenausfluss.

Tumoren oder Fremdkörper müssen meistens in Narkose untersucht werden und können gegebenenfalls direkt entfernt werden.

Shutterstock.com / Real Moment

Natürliche Therapie gegen Katzenschnupfen

Die Stärkung des Immunsystems spielt eine sehr wichtige Rolle, damit deine Katze gesund bleibt. Es gibt speziell abgestimmte Kräutermischungen die nachweislich das Immunsystem deiner Katze stärken. Diese natürliche Kräutermischung wurde von unseren Tierärzten speziell für Katzen zur Stärkung der Abwehrkräfte entwickelt. Für folgende Indikationen sollte unsere Kräutermischung Immunbooster für Katzen angewandt werden:

  • Zur Unterstützung in Stresssituationen
  • Bei Erkältungen und Blasenentzündungen
  • Bei altersbedingt eingeschränkter Aktivität des Immunsystems
  • Vorbeugend zur Stärkung des Immunsystems

Die verwendeten Heilpflanzen enthalten spezielle Wirkstoffe, welche die Funktion der körpereigenen Immunabwehr fördern und das Wohlbefinden langfristig unterstützen. So kann das Immunsystem auch vorbeugend unterstützt und gestärkt werden. Durch die Heilpflanzen lässt sich also nicht nur Katzenschnupfen bekämpfen sondern auch gleichzeitig Vorbeugen.

Unseren Immunbooster für Katzen, kannst du unkompliziert in unserem Shop bestellen.


Vorbeugung gegen Katzenschnupfen

Um deinen Liebling gesund zu halten, solltest du darauf achten, dass ihr Immunsystem gestärkt ist. Stress kann bei Katzen das Immunsystem stark schwächen! Katzen, die bereits mit Erregern des Katzenschnupfens infiziert sind, können bei Stress einen akuten Schub bekommen. Diese 5 Anzeichen zeigen dir, dass deine Katze gestresst ist:

  1. Appetitlosigkeit
  2. Übermäßiges Putzen
  3. Aggressionen
  4. Unsauberkeit: Missgeschicke außerhalb des Katzenklos sind sehr oft ein Anzeichen für Stress!
  5. Verstecken

Die Impfung ist die beste präventive Maßnahme, um deinen Liebling vor dem Katzenschnupfen zu schützen. Zwar schützt eine Impfung nicht immer vor einer Ansteckung, die Symptome sind aber bei geimpften Tieren deutlich milder.

Denke daran, die Nase und die Augen deiner Katze von Verkrustungen zu befreien. Dafür kannst du ein feuchtes Taschentuch benutzen.

Nutze unseren Immunbooster für Katzen, um das Immunsystem vorbeugend zu stärken.

  • Diese natürliche Kräutermischung wurde von unseren Tierärzten speziell für Katzen zur Stärkung der Abwehrkräfte entwickelt, zur Unterstützung in Stresssituationen, bei Erkältungen und Blasenentzündungen und bei altersbedingt eingeschränkter Aktivität des Immunsystems. Die verwendeten Heilpflanzen enthalten spezielle Wirkstoffe, welche die Funktion der körpereigenen Immunabwehr fördern und das Wohlbefinden langfristig unterstützen. So kann das Immunsystem auch vorbeugend unterstützt und gestärkt werden.

Zahnerkrankungen können vorgebeugt werden, indem eine jährliche Untersuchung der Mundhöhle stattfindet. Das kannst du gut mit der Impfung kombinieren.

Bitte beachte, dass erst wenn dein individueller Fall tierärztlich abgeklärt wurde vorbeugende Maßnahmen gegen Niesen und Nasenausfluss eingeleitet werden sollten.

Bist du dir unsicher und würdest du gern mehr über Dr. SAM erfahren - klicke einfach den Link an und erhalte weitere Einblicke in unsere Arbeit.

Liebe Grüße,
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
- Tierarzt bei Dr. SAM

Inhaltsverzeichnis
Artikel von
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Tierarzt/Tierärztin bei Dr. SAM
JETZT TIERARZT IM WHATSAPP SPRECHEN

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.
  1. asdasdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg sad sdf dsf sdf shdf kjsdhf ksdkhf jdhjfskjdfhsjkdfh sdf hsfhsdjkf hsjkdfh sdfh sjkdfh sjdhfjsdf hjskdhf sjdfh sjd hfsdfh jsdhfjkshdfj hjsdhf sjdfh sd fsd fhksjd hfjshdf jkhdsjkhf jskdh fsdjkhf
  2. asdasdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg
  3. asdasdasdsad
  4. asdasd

  • sad sfd gfdh fdg asd sdf ffgh dg hd dfgfdgdfgdfgdfgfd g g fd g dfg fd gfd gfd g fdg df gfd gd fg d fgd fgd df gdf gd fg df gdfg fdg fdfdg df gdf g dfg df df gdgf
  • fd
  • gdfg
  • df
  • g d
  • fg
  • df

What’s a Rich Text element?

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.

Static and dynamic content editing

A rich text element can be used with static or dynamic content. For static content, just drop it into any page and begin editing. For dynamic content, add a rich text field to any collection and then connect a rich text element to that field in the settings panel. Voila!

How to customize formatting for each rich text

Headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, figures, images, and figure captions can all be styled after a class is added to the rich text element using the "When inside of" nested selector system.

Weitere Artikel

Mehr Wissen

Noch unsicher?
Sprich sofort mit einem Tierarzt von Dr. SAM

Jetzt Tierarzt per WhatsApp sprechen
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Zur Zeit ist Dr. SAM in der Nachtruhe und ist nicht verfügbar.

Unsere täglichen Sprechzeiten lauten:
Montag bis Sonntag: 8 - 24Uhr

Liebe Grüße,
dein Team von Dr. SAM

Stelle deine Frage direkt per WhatsApp einem Tierarzt!
Jetzt chatten