Cat has diarrhea: definition, causes, symptoms, treatment and prophylaxis

Digestive disorders and especially diarrhea in the cat are not uncommon. The possible causes for this are varied. This can vary from a simple stomach upset to complicated diseases. It is important to note that not all diarrhea has a serious cause and needs to be treated immediately. However, the cat should be monitored more closely and if the symptom occurs over a long period of time, as well as in severe cases, a veterinarian should be contacted in time.

Article from
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM
Table of contents

When do we speak of diarrhea in the cat (diarrhea)?

Diarrhea (medical term diarrhea) refers to the frequent discharge of liquid or pulpy feces. Frequent means that the cat defecates more than 1 liter per day.

The journey through the gastrointestinal tract usually takes between 12 and 24 hours. Fecal consistency, color, and frequency of shedding can vary greatly depending on cause, diet, or gut health.

Diarrhea is one of the most common symptoms in cats. The condition of your pet determines whether a veterinarian should be consulted.


shutterstock.com / Africa Studio

Causes

The massive loss of water and electrolytes is the main reason why diarrhea should be taken seriously. This usually arises in the cat from one or more of the following reasons:

Reason 1: Food

The wrong food, abrupt food changes or a food intolerance can often lead to diarrhoea in cats. Have you tried a new type of food or changed from dry to wet food? Some proteins, carbohydrates but also additives added to the food can be the reason. 

Reason 2: Parasites

Parasites (worms or protozoa such as giardia or coccidia) that your cat got outside can also be the reason for diarrhoea. Here, especially great caution is required for outdoor cats.

Reason 3: Gastrointestinal infections

Viruses and bacteria, as with us humans can also be the reason for this. Such infections usually occur more in younger animals.

Reason 4: Organ dysfunction

Hyperthyroidism or pancreatitis, on the other hand, can cause chronic diarrhea. Does your cat also show other symptoms such as vomiting or has been losing weight for some time? Organ dysfunction could be the cause!

Reason 5: Poisoning

Poisoning by detergents, poison or poisonous plants are also reasons for diarrhea. A side effect of antibiotics also brings this symptom. 

Reason 6: Stress

Cats are very sensitive to stress. In addition to behavioural and bladder problems, your cat may also get diarrhoea due to stress. Is your cat shy or does he hide often? Changes in the household, such as a new person moving in, a construction site, a move, new furniture, a different positioning of the litter box can be very big stress factors for your darling.

There are a number of other possible causes of diarrhea in cats, such as immune-related diseases, IBD or tumors. In most cases, however, the diarrhea will go away on its own and there is no need to worry. However, if you are concerned about your cat, the easiest thing to do is contact the vets at Dr Sam.


What are the symptoms of cats with diarrhea?

To judge whether your cat has diarrhoea or not, it is important to look at the consistency of the faeces. If your tiger is an outdoor cat and only does his business outside, the whole thing is a bit difficult.

Whether a cat has diarrhea can be recognized by the following symptoms:

  • Is the feces mushy or watery?
  • Is the faeces light brown, dark brown red or even black?
  • Is the feces slimy?
  • Is the cat pressing without success?
  • Has the frequency of bowel movements increased?

Other symptoms in cats diarrhea are:

  • Weight loss
  • Great thirst/drying of the cat
  • Tiredness

Among the rather rarely occurring, but quite serious symptoms include, blood, parasites, undigested food or foreign bodies in the stool.

In uncertain and more severe cases, a fecal examination can bring clarity. This examination should only be done at a special laboratory. Self-experiments or unapproved laboratories (such as providers who offer certain sets to send in yourself) are strongly discouraged.

Cat puppies as well as older cats have a higher risk of dehydration! In combination with vomiting, a lot of water can be lost from your cat's body in a very short time.


How is diarrhea diagnosed in cats?

If your cat has diarrhea and other symptoms, it's best to be safe and get a diagnosis. Veterinarians can, for example, detect foreign bodies by palpation, rule out or confirm certain causes, and record and evaluate the cat's overall condition.

For this the cat will be palpated, temperature taken, pulse checked, etc.. For the final diagnosis, depending on the condition of the cat, different tests can then be ordered, such as blood and stool samples, in more severe cases also ultrasound or X-ray examinations. As mentioned above, the first priority is to identify the causes responsible for the diarrhoea.

What to do when the cat has diarrhea?

It is normal that you, as a cat owner, are concerned when your darling has diarrhoea. But what can you do about it?

  • To feed or not to feed? For many years it was always recommended to let the cat fast. However, recent studies have shown that normal bowel movement only occurs when smaller amounts of gentle food are given!
  • What should be fed? Gentle food means easily digestible food such as boiled chicken and turkey as well as mashed potatoes. Dairy products, on the other hand, can aggravate diarrhoea!
  • Ensure sufficient water absorption!
  • For the time being, people who have been released should not be allowed to go outside.

When should a veterinarian be consulted?

If the diarrhea is still not gone after 24 to 48 hours, then a veterinarian should be contacted and the exact cause clarified. Even if the cause has only disappeared temporarily, you should still act in a timely manner for the benefit of his darling and visit a vet, so that he determines a diagnosis. 

Professional advice should be sought immediately, especially if the following symptoms occur:

  • Diarrhea lasts more than 24 hours
  • Cat no longer eats
  • Cat no longer drinks
  • blood in the faeces

If you have a thermometer handy, you should also take the cat's temperature. If the temperature is more than 39.2 °C, caution is advised. See our article on fever in cats for more information.

The veterinarians at Dr. SAM are happy to help you assess the situation and give you useful tips through the online consultation.

Can you prevent diarrhea in cats?

The main cause of diarrhea in cats is food intolerance. If your cat is eating the food and everything has been fine until now, you clearly should not change the brand or the flavour. Abrupt food changes should be avoided!

Certain organ diseases like hyperthyroidism, liver or kidney problems can be treated quite well with medication. Just because a cat is a bit older doesn't mean that you can't do anything about certain diseases.

Worming and vaccination prophylaxis are a must. Always make sure to worm your cat. It is important that your pet stays worm-free! For a faecal examination, you should always collect faeces. This means that you should collect faeces for 3 days before sending it in.

In addition, food intended for humans should be avoided, wet food should not be left too long, and foreign objects or potentially toxic substances such as certain plants or cleaning products should be made inaccessible to cats.

Even if diarrhoea can never be completely prevented, at least a few triggers can be avoided in advance with these tips.

If you are unsure and would like to learn more about Dr. SAM - just click on the link and get further insights into our work.

Best regards,
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
- Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM

Table of contents
Article from
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM
SPEAK NOW VET AT WHATSAPP

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.
  1. asdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg sad sdf dsf sdf shdf kjsdhf ksdkhf jdhjfskjdfhsjkdfh sdf hsfhsdjkf hsjkdfh sdfh sjkdfh sjdhfjsdf hjskdhf sjdfh sjd hfsdfh jsdhfjkshdfj hjsdhf sjdfh sd fsd fhksjd hfjshdf jkhdsjkhf jskdh fsdjkhf
  2. asdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg
  3. asdasdasdsad
  4. asdasd

  • sad sfd gfdh fdg asd sdf ffgh dg hd dfgfdgdfgdfgdfgfd g g g fd g dfg fd gfd gfd gfd fdg df gfd gd fg d fgd fgd df gdf gd fg df gdfg fdg fdfdg df gdf g dfg df df gdgf
  • fd
  • gdfg
  • df
  • g d
  • fg
  • df

What's a Rich Text element?

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.

Static and dynamic content editing

A rich text element can be used with static or dynamic content. For static content, just drop it into any page and begin editing. For dynamic content, add a rich text field to any collection and then connect a rich text element to that field in the settings panel. Voila!

How to customize formatting for each rich text

Headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, figures, images, and figure captions can all be styled after a class is added to the rich text element using the "When inside of" nested selector system.

More articles

More knowledge

Still unsure?
Talk to one of Dr. SAM's vets right away.

Talk to your vet now using WhatsApp
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

At the moment Dr. SAM is at night and is not available.

Our daily office hours are
Monday through Sunday: 8am

- midnight Love,
your team of Dr. SAM

Ask your question directly to a vet via WhatsApp!
Chat now

Katze hat Durchfall: Definition, Ursachen, Symptome, Behandlung und Prophylaxe

Verdauungsstörungen und vor allem Durchfall bei der Katze sind keine Seltenheit. Die möglichen Ursachen dafür sind vielseitig. Dies kann von einer einfachen Magenverstimmung bis zu komplizierten Krankheiten variieren. Es ist wichtig anzumerken, dass nicht jeder Diarrhoe eine schwerwiegende Ursache hat und sofort behandelt werden muss. Allerdings sollte die Katze verstärkt beobachtet werden und beim Auftreten des Symptoms über einen längeren Zeitraum, sowie bei schweren Fällen, sollte rechtzeitig ein Tierarzt kontaktiert werden.

Artikel von
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Tierarzt/Tierärztin bei Dr. SAM
Inhaltsverzeichnis

Wann spricht man von Durchfall bei der Katze (Diarrhoe)?

Durchfall (medizinisch Diarrhoe) bezeichnet das häufige Absetzen von flüssigem oder breiigem Kot. Häufig heißt, dass die Katze mehr als 1 Liter Kot pro Tag absetzt.

Die Reise durch den Magen-Darm-Trakt dauert in der Regel zwischen 12 und 24 Stunden. Die Kotkonsistenz, Farbe und die Häufigkeit des Absetzens kann sich je nach Ursache, Ernährung oder Darmgesundheit stark unterscheiden.

Der Durchfall ist einer der häufigsten Symptome bei der Katze. Dabei ist der Zustand deines Tieres entscheidend, ob ein Tierarzt aufgesucht werden sollte.


shutterstock.com / Africa Studio

Ursachen

Der massive Wasser- und Elektrolytverlust ist die Hauptursache, weswegen Diarrhoe ernst genommen werden sollte. Dieser entsteht bei der Katze meistens aus einem oder mehreren der folgenden Gründe:

Grund 1: Futter

Falsches Futter, abrupter Futterwechsel oder eine Futtermittelunverträglichkeit können oft zu Durchfall bei Katzen führen. Hast du eine neue Sorte ausprobiert oder von Trocken- auf Nassfutter gewechselt? Einige Eiweiße, Kohlenhydrate aber auch Zusatzstoffe, die dem Futter beigemengt werden, können der Grund dafür sein. 

Grund 2: Parasiten

Parasiten (Würmer oder auch Einzeller wie Giardien oder Kokzidien), die deine Katze draußen bekommen hat, können ebenfalls Grund für einen Durchfall sein. Hier ist bei Freigängern besonders große Vorsicht geboten.

Grund 3: Magen-Darm-Infektionen

Viren und Bakterien, können wie bei uns Menschen ebenso Grund dafür sein. Solche Infektionen kommen in der Regel eher bei jüngeren Tieren vor.

Grund 4: Organfehlfunktionen

Eine Schilddrüsenüberfunktion oder eine Bauchspeicheldrüsenentzündung können hingegen chronische Durchfälle verursachen. Zeigt deine Katze auch andere Symptome wie Erbrechen oder verliert seit einiger Zeit an Gewicht? Organfehlfunktionen könnten die Ursache sein!

Grund 5: Vergiftungen

Vergiftungen durch Reinigungsmittel, Gift oder giftige Pflanzen sind ebenso Grund für Diarrhoe. Eine Nebenwirkung von Antibiotika bringt auch dieses Symptom mit sich. 

Grund 6: Stress

Katzen sind sehr stressempfindliche Tiere. Neben Verhaltens- und Blasenproblemen kann deine Katze daher auch aufgrund von Stress, Durchfall bekommen. Ist deine Katze scheu oder versteckt sie sich oft? Umstellungen im Haushalt, wie der Einzug einer neuen Person, eine Baustelle, ein Umzug, neue Möbel, eine andere Positionierung des Katzenklos können sehr große Stressfaktoren für deinen Liebling sein.

Es gibt noch eine Reihe anderer möglicher Ursachen für Durchfall bei Katzen, wie Immunbedingte Erkrankungen, IBD oder Tumore. In den meisten Fällen verschwindet der Durchfall allerdings von selbst wieder und es besteht kein Grund zur Sorge. Wenn du jedoch Sorge um deine Katze hast, dann kontaktiere am einfachsten die Tierärzte von Dr Sam.


Welche Symptome zeigen Katzen mit Durchfall?

Um zu beurteilen, ob deine Katze Durchfall hat oder nicht, ist es wichtig dir die Kotkonsistenz anzusehen. Wenn dein Tiger ein Freigänger ist und nur draußen sein Geschäft erledigt, gestaltet sich das Ganze ein bisschen schwierig.

Ob eine Katzendurchfall vorliegt, lässt sich anhand der folgenden Symptome erkennen:

  • Ist der Kot breiig oder wässrig?
  • Ist der Kot hell-, dunkelbraun rot oder sogar schwarz?
  • Ist der Kot schleimig?
  • Presst die Katze ohne Erfolg?
  • Hat sich die Häufigkeit des Stuhlgangs erhöht?

Weitere Symptome bei Katzen Diarrhoe sind:

  • Gewichtsverlust
  • Großer Durst/Austrocknen der Katze
  • Müdigkeit

Zu den eher selten auftretenden, aber durchaus ernstzunehmenden Symptomen zählen, Blut, Parasiten, unverdautes Futter oder Fremdkörper im Stuhl.

In unsicheren und schwereren Fällen kann eine Kotuntersuchung Klarheit bringen. Diese Untersuchung sollte nur bei einem speziellen Labor gemacht werden. Von Selbstexperimenten oder nicht zugelassenen Laboren (wie z.B. Anbieter, die bestimmte Sets zum selber einschicken anbieten) ist dringend abzuraten.

Katzenwelpen sowie ältere Katzen haben eine höhere Gefahr auszutrocknen! In Kombination mit Erbrechen, kann in sehr kurzer Zeit sehr viel Wasser aus dem Körper deiner Katze verloren gehen.


Wie wird Diarrhoe bei Katzen diagnostiziert?

Hat deine Katze Durchfall und weitere Symptome, sollte auf Nummer sicher gegangen werden und eine Diagnose festgestellt werden. Tierärzte können beispielweise Fremdkörper durch Abtasten erkennen, bestimmte Ursachen ausschließen oder bestätigen und den Gesamtzustand der Katze erfassen und bewerten.

Hierfür wird die Katze abgetastet, die Temperatur gemessen, Puls geprüft, etc. Für die endgültige Diagnose können dann, abhängig vom Zustand der Katze, verschiedene Tests angeordnet werden, wie z.B. Blut- und Stuhlproben, in schwereren Fällen auch Ultraschall- oder Röntgen-Untersuchungen. Wie bereits erwähnt ist das oberste Ziel zunächst, die für den Durchfall verantwortlichen Ursachen zu erkennen.

Was tun, wenn die Katze Durchfall hat?

Es ist normal, dass du als Katzenbesitzer besorgt bist, wenn dein Liebling Durchfall hat. Aber was kannst du dagegen tun?

  • Füttern oder nicht Füttern? Für viele Jahre wurde immer wieder empfohlen, die Katze nüchtern zu lassen. Neuere Studien haben jedoch gezeigt, dass eine normale Darmbewegung nur stattfindet, wenn kleinere Mengen Schonkost gegeben werden!
  • Was soll gefüttert werden? Schonkost heißt leicht verdauliche Kost wie gekochtes Hühnchen und Pute sowie Kartoffelbrei. Milchprodukte können hingegen den Durchfall verschlimmern!
  • Auf genügend Wasseraufnahme achten!
  • Freigänger sollten erstmal nicht nach draußen gelassen werden.

Wann sollte ein Tierarzt hinzugezogen werden?

Ist der Durchfall nach 24 bis 48 Stunden immer noch nicht weg, dann sollte ein Tierarzt kontaktiert und die genaue Ursache abgeklärt werden. Auch, wenn die Ursache nur vorübergehend verschwunden ist, sollte man hier seinem Liebling zu gute trotzdem fristgerecht handeln und einen Tierarzt aufsuchen, damit dieser eine Diagnose feststellt. 

Vor allem wenn folgende Symptome auftreten, sollte umgehend professioneller Rat eingeholt werden:

Wenn Du ein Thermometer zur Hand hast, solltest du auch die Temperatur der Katze messen. Wenn die Temperatur mehr als 39.2 °C beträgt, ist Vorsicht geboten. Sieh dir hierfür unseren Beitrag zu Fieber bei Katzen an.

Die Tierärzte bei Dr. SAM helfen dir gerne die Situation einzuschätzen und geben dir durch die online Sprechstunde nützliche Tipps.

Kann man Durchfall bei Katzen vorbeugen?

Die Hauptursache für Durchfall bei Katzen ist eine Futtermittelunverträglichkeit. Wenn deine Katze das Futtermittel frisst und bis jetzt alles in Ordnung war, sollte man eindeutig nicht die Marke oder die Geschmacksrichtung wechseln. Abrupte Futterumstellungen sollten vermieden werden!

Bestimmte Organerkrankungen wie eine Schilddrüsenüberfunktion, Leber- oder Nierenprobleme können ganz gut mit Medikamenten behandelt werden. Nur, weil eine Katze ein bisschen älter ist heißt es nicht, dass man nichts mehr gegen bestimmte Krankheiten unternehmen kann.

Wurmkuren und Impfprophylaxe sind ein Muss. Achte darauf deine Katze immer zu entwurmen. Es ist wichtig, dass dein Liebling wurmfrei bleibt! Für eine Kotuntersuchung sollte immer eine Sammelkotprobe stattfinden. Das heißt, du solltest 3 Tage lang Kot sammeln bevor dieser eingeschickt wird.

Außerdem sollte vermieden werden, Lebensmittel zu verabreichen, die für den Menschen gedacht sind, Nassfutter sollte nicht zu lange stehen bleiben und Fremdkörper oder potentiell giftige Stoffe wie bestimmte Pflanzen oder Putzmittel sollten für Katzen unzugänglich gemacht werden.

Auch wenn sich Durchfall nie zur Gänze vermeiden lässt, so lassen sich mit diesen Tipps immerhin ein paar Auslöser bereits im Vorhinein vermeiden.

Bist du dir unsicher und würdest du gern mehr über Dr. SAM erfahren - klicke einfach den Link an und erhalte weitere Einblicke in unsere Arbeit.

Liebe Grüße,
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
- Tierarzt bei Dr. SAM

Inhaltsverzeichnis
Artikel von
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Tierarzt/Tierärztin bei Dr. SAM
JETZT TIERARZT IM WHATSAPP SPRECHEN

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.
  1. asdasdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg sad sdf dsf sdf shdf kjsdhf ksdkhf jdhjfskjdfhsjkdfh sdf hsfhsdjkf hsjkdfh sdfh sjkdfh sjdhfjsdf hjskdhf sjdfh sjd hfsdfh jsdhfjkshdfj hjsdhf sjdfh sd fsd fhksjd hfjshdf jkhdsjkhf jskdh fsdjkhf
  2. asdasdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg
  3. asdasdasdsad
  4. asdasd

  • sad sfd gfdh fdg asd sdf ffgh dg hd dfgfdgdfgdfgdfgfd g g fd g dfg fd gfd gfd g fdg df gfd gd fg d fgd fgd df gdf gd fg df gdfg fdg fdfdg df gdf g dfg df df gdgf
  • fd
  • gdfg
  • df
  • g d
  • fg
  • df

What’s a Rich Text element?

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.

Static and dynamic content editing

A rich text element can be used with static or dynamic content. For static content, just drop it into any page and begin editing. For dynamic content, add a rich text field to any collection and then connect a rich text element to that field in the settings panel. Voila!

How to customize formatting for each rich text

Headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, figures, images, and figure captions can all be styled after a class is added to the rich text element using the "When inside of" nested selector system.

Noch unsicher?
Sprich sofort mit einem Tierarzt von Dr. SAM

Jetzt Tierarzt per WhatsApp sprechen
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Zur Zeit ist Dr. SAM in der Nachtruhe und ist nicht verfügbar.

Unsere täglichen Sprechzeiten lauten:
Montag bis Sonntag: 8 - 24Uhr

Liebe Grüße,
dein Team von Dr. SAM

Stelle deine Frage direkt per WhatsApp einem Tierarzt!
Jetzt chatten