Diarrhoea in dogs - What you can do about it

Diarrhoea is usually a sign that the gastrointestinal function is disturbed. The causes can be varied, but often it is harmless. If the diarrhoea stops quickly, it does not need urgent treatment. You should observe your dog more closely to keep an eye on the frequency of the diarrhoea as well as the consistency. ‍‍

Article from
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM
Table of contents

Definition

If your dog has diarrhoea (medical term: diarrhoea), he defecates more often than usual and the faeces have a different consistency than usual. The diarrhoea can be mushy, watery (with or without blood) or even slimy. It usually takes between 12-24 hours from eating to defecation. Even the colour of the diarrhoea could provide information about what causes it. A distinction is also made between acute and chronic diarrhoea. Acute means for less than 24 hours and chronic for more than two weeks.

Diarrhoea is the most common symptom in dogs. The condition and general health of the dog determines whether or not a veterinarian should be consulted.

Cause

Diarrhoea is not a disease but a symptom. The gastrointestinal tract is not able to form the faeces and so it becomes mushy-watery due to water excretion. Diarrhoea should always be taken seriously due to the loss of water and electrolytes and usually occurs in dogs for the following reasons:

  1. Feed intolerances: A feed intolerance (allergy) or sudden change of feed is usually the reason for acute diarrhoea. Have you tried a new type of feed or changed from dry to wet feed? Feeding from the hand, such as leftovers from the table, can also cause severe diarrhoea. Many dogs do not tolerate all types of meat or react extremely to certain types of grain (barley, rye or wheat), which are contained in most foods. A radical change from dog food to BARF is also often another reason for sudden diarrhoea.
  2. Parasites: Parasites(worms or protozoa such as giardia or coccidia) are one of the most common causes of chronic or acute diarrhoea. Can you remember the last time you wormed your dog? Maybe the time has come to have a faecal sample tested or to worm your dog as a precaution. Giardia is relatively common in dogs, especially when they drink from puddles . Because of the high risk of infection, poo should be removed immediately! Worms are usually not visible to the naked eye! A faecal examination could give you certainty. But here, too, caution is advised! Just because no worm eggs were found in the faeces does not mean that your dog does not have worms!
  3. Gastroenteritis: As with us humans, viruses, bacteria and unicellular organisms (giardia) are responsible for gastrointestinal infections. Such infections usually occur more often in younger dogs. Especially in summer they plague our pets.
  4. Organ dysfunction: Pancreatitis, hormonal diseases, cobalamin and folic acid deficiency, or Addison's disease can cause chronic diarrhoea. If your dog also shows other symptoms such as vomiting and a changed coat, organ dysfunction can be the cause!
  5. Immune-related diseases such as IBD or tumours
  6. Poisoning by detergents, poison (rat poison, slug pellets, etc.), poisonous plants or food, fertilizers or pesticides as well as rotten food residues cause sudden and severe diarrhea. Diarrhoea often occurs as a side effect of antibiotics.
  7. Stress: Your dog loves you! But changes in the household such as a move, a new pet or a new partner can put dogs under a lot of stress. Stressful situations can be the cause of diarrhoea. Is your dog perhaps alone for too many hours or is he confronted with extreme stress situations every day?

Symptoms and diagnosis

In order to judge first of all whether your dog has diarrhoea, you would have to look at the excrement. Many dogs signal in advance that they will get diarrhoea, they get nervous, want to get out urgently or refuse their food.

If your dog has diarrhoea the following 5 things are important:

  • If the diarrhea is mushy or watery
  • Is the diarrhoea light brown, dark brown red or even black?
  • Is the diarrhea slimy or bloody?
  • Are worms visible in diarrhoea
  • Is the dog pressing without success?

Make sure you always have a thermometer at home. If your dog's body temperature is over 39.2°C, he clearly has a fever! Take a look at our article Dog fever.

A faecal analysis should only be done at your vet or at a special laboratory. Self-experimentation at home or in unauthorised laboratories, such as vendors who offer certain kits to send in, should be avoided as the results are often unreliable.

If you have a puppy under 8 weeks old that has diarrhoea, it is an emergency! Puppies tend to dehydrate and hypoglycemic!


Therapy

It is normal that you panic easily when your dog suddenly has diarrhoea. What can you do about it?

  • Feeding or sober? This is a question we veterinarians are asked time and again. It varies from case to case. In general you should avoid feeding anything at all. After some time the dog should be fed small amounts of bland food to prevent the diarrhoea from getting worse.
  • What should be fed? Light food means easily digestible food such as cooked chicken and turkey as well as mashed potatoes. In case of an infection with Giardia, a special bland diet should be offered! Dairy products or pure milk, on the other hand, can aggravate the diarrhoea!
  • Diarrhea pastes or intestinal bacteria help enormously to regenerate the intestinal flora and to bind the water in the intestine.
  • Ensure sufficient water absorption! The water bowl should always contain fresh water.

If the diarrhoea lasts longer than 24-48 hours or you have the impression that it is getting worse and worse, the cause must be found.

The administration of antibiosis is clearly wrong according to the current state of medicine. Several studies have proven that an antibiotic has no effect on diarrhoea, but rather demands bacterial resistance! In addition, the intestinal flora of your dog will be destroyed even more than it already is with diarrhoea! Bacterial infections of the intestines occur very rarely in dogs.

The veterinarians at Dr. SAM are happy to help you assess the situation and give you useful tips through the online consultation.

Prevention

  • The main cause of diarrhoea in dogs is food intolerance. If you have recently started feeding something new or have changed the manufacturer and flavour (e.g. instead of chicken, beef), this may be the reason. Abrupt feed changes should also be avoided! The digestive tract can get used to the new food more easily if it is slowly mixed with the previous food.
  • Certain organ diseases such as pancreatitis, inflammation of the liver or deficiency symptoms can be the cause of diarrhoea. To find out such organ diseases a blood test would have to be carried out. Only when the cause has been eliminated will the diarrhoea disappear.
  • Make sure your Always worm your dog. It is important that your pet stays worm-free! For a faecal examination , you should always submit a pooled faecal sample . This means that you should collect faeces for 3 days before sending it in. Many worm eggs are excreted irregularly, which means that the examination of a single sample may erroneously be inconclusive.

If you are unsure and would like to learn more about Dr. SAM - just click on the link and you will receive further insights into our work.

Best regards,
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
- Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM

Table of contents
Article from
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM
SPEAK NOW VET AT WHATSAPP

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.
  1. asdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg sad sdf dsf sdf shdf kjsdhf ksdkhf jdhjfskjdfhsjkdfh sdf hsfhsdjkf hsjkdfh sdfh sjkdfh sjdhfjsdf hjskdhf sjdfh sjd hfsdfh jsdhfjkshdfj hjsdhf sjdfh sd fsd fhksjd hfjshdf jkhdsjkhf jskdh fsdjkhf
  2. asdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg
  3. asdasdasdsad
  4. asdasd

  • sad sfd gfdh fdg asd sdf ffgh dg hd dfgfdgdfgdfgdfgfd g g g fd g dfg fd gfd gfd gfd fdg df gfd gd fg d fgd fgd df gdf gd fg df gdfg fdg fdfdg df gdf g dfg df df gdgf
  • fd
  • gdfg
  • df
  • g d
  • fg
  • df

What's a Rich Text element?

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.

Static and dynamic content editing

A rich text element can be used with static or dynamic content. For static content, just drop it into any page and begin editing. For dynamic content, add a rich text field to any collection and then connect a rich text element to that field in the settings panel. Voila!

How to customize formatting for each rich text

Headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, figures, images, and figure captions can all be styled after a class is added to the rich text element using the "When inside of" nested selector system.

More articles

More knowledge

Still unsure?
Talk to one of Dr. SAM's vets right away.

Talk to your vet now using WhatsApp
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

At the moment Dr. SAM is at night and is not available.

Our daily office hours are
Monday through Sunday: 8am

- midnight Love,
your team of Dr. SAM

Ask your question directly to a vet via WhatsApp!
Chat now

Was gegen Durchfall bei Hunden effektiv hilft.

Durchfall ist meistens ein Anzeichen, dass die Magen-Darm-Funktion gestört ist.

Die Ursachen können vielfältig sein, oft jedoch ist er harmlos. Wenn der Durchfall schnell wieder aufhört muss er nicht dringend behandelt werden. Du solltest deinen Hund genauer beobachten, um die Häufigkeit des Durchfalls sowie die Konsistenz im Auge zu behalten.


Artikel von
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Tierarzt bei Dr. SAM
Inhaltsverzeichnis

Definition:

Wenn dein Hund Durchfall (medizinisch: Diarrhoe) hat entleert er seinen Darm häufiger als normalerweise und der Kot hat eine andere Konsistenz als sonst. Der Durchfall kann breiig, wässrig (mit oder ohne Blut) oder auch schleimig sein. Vom Fressen bis zum Kotabsatz vergehen in der Regel zwischen 12-24 Stunden. Sogar die Farbe des Durchfalls könnte Auskunft darüber geben, welche Ursachen dahinter stecken können. Zusätzlich unterscheidet man zwischen akuten und chronischen Durchfällen. Akut bedeutet seit weniger als 24 Stunden und chronisch länger als zwei Wochen.

Durchfall ist das am häufigst vorkommende Symptom bei Hunden. Der Zustand und das allgemeine Befinden des Hundes ist entscheidend, ob ein Tierarzt aufgesucht werden sollte oder nicht.

Ursache:

Durchfall ist keine Krankheit sondern ein Symptom. Der Magen-Darm-Trakt ist nicht in der Lage, den Kot zu formen und so wird er durch Wasserausscheidungen breiig-wässrig. Durchfall sollte aufgrund des Wasser- und Elektrolytverlusts immer ernst genommen werden und entsteht beim Hund meistens aus den folgenden Gründen:

  1. Futtermittelunverträglichkeiten: Eine Futtermittelunverträglichkeit (-Allergie) oder plötzlicher Futterwechsel, ist meistens der Grund für akuten Durchfall. Hast du eine neue Futtersorte ausprobiert oder von Trocken- auf Nassfutter gewechselt? Auch das füttern aus der Hand wie zum Beispiel Essensreste vom Tisch können starken Durchfall verursachen. Viele Hunde vertragen nicht alle Fleischsorten oder reagieren extrem auf bestimmte Getreidesorten (Gersten, Roggen oder Weizen), die in den meisten Futtermitteln enthalten sind. Ein radikaler Wechsel von Hundefutter auf BARF ist auch oft ein weiterer Grund für plötzlichen Durchfall.
  2. Parasiten: Parasiten (Würmer oder auch Einzeller wie Giardien oder Kokzidien),sind einer der häufigsten Ursachen für chronischen oder akuten Durchfall. Kannst du dich noch dran erinnern wann du das letzte Mal deinen Hund entwurmt hast? Vielleicht ist die Zeit gekommen eine Kotprobe untersuchen zu lassen oder deinen Hund vorsorglich zu entwurmen. Giardien kommen beim Hund relativ häufig vor, insbesondere wenn der Hund aus Pfützen trinkt. Aufgrund der hohen Infektionsgefahr sollten Häufchen umgehend beseitigt werden! Würmer sind im Kot, mit bloßem Auge, meistens nicht zu erkennen! Eine Kotuntersuchung könnte dir Gewissheit geben. Aber auch hier ist Vorsicht geboten! Nur weil in der Kotprobe keine Wurmeier zu finden waren heißt es nicht, dass dein Hund keine Würmer hat!
  3. Magen-Darm-Infektionen: Wie auch bei uns Menschen sind Viren, Bakterien und Einzeller (Giardien) für Magen-Darm-Infektionen verantwortlich. Solche Infektionen kommen in der Regel eher bei jüngeren Hunden vor. Besonders im Sommer plagen solche sie unsere Lieblinge.
  4. Organfehlfunktionen: Eine Bauchspeicheldrüsenentzündung, hormonelle Erkrankungen, Cobalamin- sowie Folsäuremangel, oder der Morbus Addison können chronische Durchfälle verursachen. Wenn dein Hund auch andere Symptome wie Erbrechen sowie verändertes Fell zeigt, können Organfehlfunktionen die Ursache sein!
  5. Immunbedingte Erkrankungen wie IBD oder Tumore
  6. Vergiftungen durch Reinigungsmittel, Gift (Rattengift, Schneckenkorn etc.),giftige Pflanzen oder Lebensmittel, Dünger oder Pflanzenschutzmittel sowie faule Essensreste verursachen plötzlichen und starken Durchfall. Oft tritt Durchfall aber auch als Nebenwirkung von Antibiotika auf.
  7. Stress: Dein Hund liebt dich! Aber Veränderungen im Haushalt wie ein Umzug, ein neues Haustier oder ein neuer Partner können Hunde massiv unter Stress setzen. Stresssituationen können die Ursache des Durchfalls sein. Ist er Hund vielleicht zu viele Stunden alleine oder wird er täglich mit extremen Stresssituationen konfrontiert?

Symptome und Diagnose:

Um in erster Stelle zu beurteilen ob dein Hund Durchfall hat, müsstest du dir den Kotabsatz anschauen. Viele Hunde signalisieren schon im Voraus, dass sie Durchfall bekommen, sie werden nervös, wollen dringend raus oder lehnen ihr Futter ab.

Wenn dein Hund Durchfall hat sind folgende 5 Dinge wichtig:

  • Ist der Durchfall breiig oder wässrig
  • Ist der Durchfall hell-, dunkelbraun rot oder sogar schwarz?
  • Ist der Durchfall schleimig oder blutig?
  • Sind Würmer im Durchfall sichtbar
  • Presst der Hund ohne Erfolg?

Sorge dafür, dass immer ein Thermometer zu Hause hast. Hat dein Hund eine Körpertemperatur über 39.2 °C hat er eindeutig Fieber! Schau dir dazu unseren Artikel Fieber beim Hund an.

Eine Kotuntersuchung sollte nur bei deinem Tierarzt oder bei einem speziellen Labor gemacht werden. Selbstexperimente zu Hause oder nicht zugelassenen Labore wie z.B Anbieter, die bestimmte Sets zum selber einschicken anbieten, sollten vermieden werden, da die Ergebnisse oft unzuverlässig sind.

Hast du einen unter 8-Wochen alten Welpen der Durchfall hat, dann ist es ein Notfall! Welpen neigen dazu auszutrocknen und zu unterzuckern!


Therapie:

Es ist normal, dass du leicht in Panik verfällst wenn dein Hund plötzlich Durchfall hat. Was kannst du dagegen tun?

  • Füttern oder nüchtern? Diese Frage wird uns Tierärzten immer wieder gestellt. Es ist von Fall zu Fall unterschiedlich. Generell sollte erst einmal vermieden werden irgendetwas zu füttern. Nach einiger Zeit sollte der Hund mit kleineren Mengen Schonkost angefüttert werden, damit der Durchfall nicht schlimmer wird.
  • Was soll gefüttert werden? Schonkost heißt leicht verdauliche Kost wie gekochtes Hühnchen und Pute sowie Kartoffelbrei. Im Falle einer Infektion mit Giardien müsste man eine spezielle Schonkost anbieten! Milchprodukte oder pure Milch können hingegen den Durchfall verschlimmern!
  • Durchfallpasten oder Darmbakterien helfen enorm die Darmflora zu regenerieren und das Wasser im Darm zu binden.
  • Auf genügend Wasseraufnahme achten! Der Wassernapf sollte immer frisches Wasser enthalten.

Wenn der Durchfall länger als 24-48 Stunden anhält oder du den Eindruck hast, dass es immer schlimmer wird muss die Ursache gefunden werden.

Die Verabreichung von Antibiose ist eindeutig nach dem heutigen Stand der Medizin falsch. Mehrere Studien haben bewiesen, dass ein Antibiotikum beim Durchfall keine Wirkung hat, sondern die bakterielle Resistenzen fordert! Zusätzlich wird die Darmflora deines Hundes noch mehr zerstört als sie schon bei einem Durchfall ist! Bakterielle Infektionen des Darmes kommen beim Hund sehr selten vor.

Die Tierärzte bei Dr. SAM helfen dir gerne die Situation einzuschätzen und geben dir durch die online Sprechstunde nützliche Tipps.

Vorbeugung:

  • Die Hauptursache für Durchfall bei Hunden ist eine Futtermittelunverträglichkeit. Wenn du seit kurzem etwas neues fütterst oder den Hersteller sowie Geschmacksrichtung (z.B. statt Hähnchen, Rind) gewechselt hast, kann das der Grund sein. Abrupte Futterumstellungen sollten ebenfalls vermieden werden! Der Verdauungstrakt kann sich leichter an die neue Kost gewöhnen wenn es langsam unter das vorherige Futter gemischt wird.
  • Bestimmte Organerkrankungen wie eine Bauchspeicheldrüsenentzündung, Leberentzündung oder Mangelerscheinungen können die Ursache des Durchfalls sein. Um solche Organerkrankungen rauszufinden müsste eine Blutuntersuchung durchgeführt werden. Nur wenn die Ursache behoben wurde verschwindet der Durchfall.
  • Achte darauf deinen Hund immer zu entwurmen. Es ist wichtig, dass dein Liebling wurmfrei bleibt! Für eine Kotuntersuchung solltest du immer eine Sammelkotprobe einreichen. Das heißt du solltest 3 Tage lang Kot sammeln bevor dieser eingeschickt wird. Viele Wurmeier werden unregelmäßig ausgeschieden was dazu führt, dass die Untersuchung einer einzelnen Probe fälschlicherweise ohne Befund ausfällt.

Wenn du dir nicht sicher bist wie du vorgehen sollst oder Fragen hast, melde dich bei unseren Tierärzten. Wir beantworten deine Fragen gern.

Liebe Grüße,
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
- Tierarzt bei Dr. SAM

Inhaltsverzeichnis

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.
  1. asdasdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg sad sdf dsf sdf shdf kjsdhf ksdkhf jdhjfskjdfhsjkdfh sdf hsfhsdjkf hsjkdfh sdfh sjkdfh sjdhfjsdf hjskdhf sjdfh sjd hfsdfh jsdhfjkshdfj hjsdhf sjdfh sd fsd fhksjd hfjshdf jkhdsjkhf jskdh fsdjkhf
  2. asdasdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg
  3. asdasdasdsad
  4. asdasd

  • sad sfd gfdh fdg asd sdf ffgh dg hd dfgfdgdfgdfgdfgfd g g fd g dfg fd gfd gfd g fdg df gfd gd fg d fgd fgd df gdf gd fg df gdfg fdg fdfdg df gdf g dfg df df gdgf
  • fd
  • gdfg
  • df
  • g d
  • fg
  • df

What’s a Rich Text element?

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.

Static and dynamic content editing

A rich text element can be used with static or dynamic content. For static content, just drop it into any page and begin editing. For dynamic content, add a rich text field to any collection and then connect a rich text element to that field in the settings panel. Voila!

How to customize formatting for each rich text

Headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, figures, images, and figure captions can all be styled after a class is added to the rich text element using the "When inside of" nested selector system.

Noch unsicher?
Sprich sofort mit einem Tierarzt von Dr. SAM

Jetzt risikolos beraten lassen

Unsere Tierärzte rufen dich schnellstmöglich zurück!

✔ OK
× Ungültige Telefonnr.
Fehler:
Ich habe einen Aktionscode.
Bei Wildtieren und Vögeln kann Dr. SAM zur Zeit nicht weiterhelfen.

Hier findest du Einrichtungen, die dir weiterhelfen können:
NABU - Naturschutzbund
Vielen Dank! Wir werden uns umgehend bei dir melden.
Da ist leider etwas schiefgelaufen. Bitte versuche es erneut.

Zur Zeit ist Dr. SAM in der Nachtruhe und ist nicht verfügbar.

Unsere täglichen Sprechzeiten lauten:
Montag bis Sonntag: 8 - 24Uhr

Liebe Grüße,
dein Team von Dr. SAM