Tartar in dogs - What you can do about it

Almost everybody knows it. The yellowish to brownish deposits and discolorations on the teeth of our dogs and how we get rid of them. The hygiene and care of our dogs' teeth is an important aspect of general health. Bad teeth can have serious consequences, so the mouth cavity should be checked regularly.

Article from
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM
Table of contents

Definition

Tartar is caused by plaque, which is the residue of food and bacteria that hardens over time. More and more tartar is formed by the plaque that accumulates on them.

You should get your dogs used to the fact that you as owner look at their teeth and mouth cavity from puppy age on. It makes visits to the vet and dental care easier in the future.

Cause

Plaque and tartar can occur for various reasons:

  • Genetically conditioned: Unfortunately, there are many breeds of dogs that are extremely prone to tartar despite dental care. However, this is not the fault of the owner, but is race-related. It is mainly the small dog breeds (e.g. Chihuahua, Shi-Tzu or Yorkshire Terrier) that have big problems with it. Because of the too small jaws and the narrow spaces between the teeth, their mouth cavity offers the perfect place for tartar to settle. In addition, the mouth flora of small dog breeds differs greatly from that of larger dogs. This favours the development of tartar.
  • Soft food: Dogs which are fed exclusively with canned food and never really have to chew anything, unfortunately do not have the possibility to clean their teeth mechanically by chewing. In addition, wet food can more easily sit on existing coverings or get stuck in the spaces between them. However, there is no consensus on this aspect. Other studies show that dry food causes more plaque and therefore more tartar.
  • Sugar: Sugar and other ingredients are used in many feeds and treats to make them more attractive to dogs. The owner is pleased that the dog likes it. But the result is caries and plaque.
  • Not enough exercise: If a dog is actively in motion, it usually starts to pant slightly at some point and saliva is increased. Cleaning the teeth with saliva and tongue is an important part of mouth hygiene. The same applies to dogs that drink very little and have a dry mouth. Under these conditions, bacteria can multiply more easily and form plaque.

Symptoms and diagnosis

It's more with one dog, less with another. The cheek-, fangs and canines of the upper jaw are particularly often affected. You should first get a picture of your dog's dentition before you start caring for it. How much tartar does he have? Should the teeth be cleaned professionally?

  • Tooth colour: Your dog's teeth should be mostly white. Slight discoloration may be present in one area or another. But if a brown, thick layer already forms on some teeth, it is an indication that tartar or plaque is forming.
  • Gums: The gums adjacent to the teeth should always be pink. After stress or exertion it is naturally a little darker. If you have teeth with plaque or even tartar, you will notice that the edge of the gums is strongly reddened and irritated. Often it starts bleeding at the slightest touch because it is inflamed by the bacteria that are on the plaque.
  • Smell: If a dog has very strong tartar, it develops an extreme smell from the mouth. Both the plaque on the teeth and the inflammation of the gums smell strong!
  • Problems chewing: Teeth that are in a very bad condition for a long time naturally cause pain in the long run. Therefore affected dogs usually avoid hard food, salivate or refuse to eat at all.
There are many different ways to care for your dog's teeth. First of all, you should assess your dog's teeth together with a vet. Our veterinarians will be happy to look at your four-legged friend's mouth during a video call and advise you on how to proceed.

Often dogs with toothache rub with their paws against the mouth or with their muzzle along furniture. Swelling of the face or nose can also indicate a tooth problem or tartar. In this case it is long time to act!

Therapy and prevention

Even if your dog should already have bad teeth, it is not too late to do something. Here are the 5 most effective options:

  1. Professional dental cleaning: Depending on the condition of your teeth, it is possible that before you can care for them yourself, they may need to be professionally cleaned by a vet. This is done, as with us humans, with an ultrasonic scaler, which effectively removes tartar from the tooth. If such a treatment is carried out, it makes sense to have the teeth polished afterwards. The resulting smooth surface is less prone to plaque.
  2. Brushing teeth: Whether it is after a dental cleaning or to prevent tartar, it is recommended to brush your dogs teeth. Since the diet of dogs today no longer corresponds to that of a wolf, the mechanical cleaning of teeth when chewing prey has also changed. There are many different possibilities on the market, from the Tooth fingerling up to the electronic ultrasonic toothbrush. It is important to use only one intended for dogs Toothpaste to use! Toothpaste for humans contains ingredients that are toxic for dogs. Our veterinarians will be happy to advise you on this.
  3. Chewables: Every dog should get a chewing article 1-2 times a week, with which they clean their teeth properly. The chewing article should of course be appropriate to the size of your dog and not be easy to swallow for greedy dogs. For this purpose, cattle scalp, pig ears or similar products made of dried skin or cartilage are very suitable.
  4. Chew toys: The dog toy department now also offers quite a few dental care products. Begun with Plastic toys with structures, which are to clean the tooth up to the wooden root (from the specialized trade) which removes the lining due to her structure. Here it is to be considered what is interesting for the dog and is also used. Advantage is, the dog is busy without eating.
  5. Dental care products: Besides the mechanical tooth cleaning there are also many other products e.g. our Anti-Plaque Powder, which can be added to the food.
Bad teeth and poor mouth hygiene in dogs can cause long-term consequential damage. The permanent swallowing of the bacteria causes serious damage to the heart!

If you are unsure and would like to learn more about Dr. SAM - just click on the link and you will receive further insights into our work.

Best regards,
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
- Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM

Table of contents
Article from
Dr. Christian Dimitriadis
Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM
SPEAK NOW VET AT WHATSAPP

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.
  1. asdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg sad sdf dsf sdf shdf kjsdhf ksdkhf jdhjfskjdfhsjkdfh sdf hsfhsdjkf hsjkdfh sdfh sjkdfh sjdhfjsdf hjskdhf sjdfh sjd hfsdfh jsdhfjkshdfj hjsdhf sjdfh sd fsd fhksjd hfjshdf jkhdsjkhf jskdh fsdjkhf
  2. asdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg
  3. asdasdasdsad
  4. asdasd

  • sad sfd gfdh fdg asd sdf ffgh dg hd dfgfdgdfgdfgdfgfd g g g fd g dfg fd gfd gfd gfd fdg df gfd gd fg d fgd fgd df gdf gd fg df gdfg fdg fdfdg df gdf g dfg df df gdgf
  • fd
  • gdfg
  • df
  • g d
  • fg
  • df

What's a Rich Text element?

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.

Static and dynamic content editing

A rich text element can be used with static or dynamic content. For static content, just drop it into any page and begin editing. For dynamic content, add a rich text field to any collection and then connect a rich text element to that field in the settings panel. Voila!

How to customize formatting for each rich text

Headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, figures, images, and figure captions can all be styled after a class is added to the rich text element using the "When inside of" nested selector system.

More articles

More knowledge

Still unsure?
Talk to one of Dr. SAM's vets right away.

Talk to your vet now using WhatsApp
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

At the moment Dr. SAM is at night and is not available.

Our daily office hours are
Monday through Sunday: 8am

- midnight Love,
your team of Dr. SAM

Ask your question directly to a vet via WhatsApp!
Chat now

Zahnstein beim Hund – Was du dagegen tun kannst

Autor: Dr. Sam | Zuletzt bearbeitet: 20. März 2022 | Lesezeit: 16 min
Hund mit Zahnstein kaut auf Teppich

Fast jeder kennt es. Die gelblich bis braunen Ablagerungen und Verfärbungen auf den Zähnen unserer Hunde und wie wir sie loswerden. Die Hygiene und Pflege der Zähne unserer Hunde ist ein wichtiger Punkt der allgemeinen Gesundheit. Schlechte Zähne können schwerwiegende Folgen mit sich bringen, daher sollte die Maulhöhle regelmäßig kontrolliert werden.

Definition

Zahnstein entsteht durch Zahnbeläge, das sog. Plaque, die Reste von Futter und Bakterien beinhalten und mit der Zeit hart werden. Durch die sich darauf sammelnden Beläge bildet sich immer mehr Zahnstein.

Man sollte seine Hunde von Welpenalter an daran gewöhnen, dass man sich als Besitzer die Zähne und die Maulhöhle anschaut. Es macht Tierarztbesuche und die Zahnpflege in der Zukunft einfacher. 

Ursache

Zahnbelag (Plaque) und Zahnstein kann aus verschiedenen Gründen entstehen:

  • Genetisch bedingt: Leider gibt es mittlerweile sehr viele Hunderassen die trotz Zahnpflege extrem zu Zahnstein neigen. Das ist allerdings nicht die Schuld des Besitzers, sondern rassebedingt. Es sind vor allem die kleinen Hunderassen (z.B. Chihuahua, Shi-Tzu oder Yorkshire Terrier), die große Probleme damit haben. Durch den zu kleinen Kiefer und den engen Zahnzwischenräumen bietet ihre Maulhöhle die perfekten Orte zum Ansetzen von Zahnstein. Zusätzlich unterscheidet sich die Mundflora kleiner Hunderassen stark von der, der größeren Hunde. Diese begünstigt das Entstehen von Zahnstein.
  • Weiches Futter: Hunde die ausschließlich mit Dosenfutter ernährt werden und zu dem niemals etwas wirklich kauen müssen, haben leider nicht die Möglichkeit durch das Kauen die Zähne mechanisch zu reinigen. Zudem kann sich Nassfutter leichter auf bestehende Beläge setzen oder in den Zwischenräumen hängen bleiben. Bezüglich dieses Aspekts ist man sich allerdings nicht einig. Andere Studien zeigen, dass beim Trockenfutter mehr Plaque entsteht und somit auch mehr Zahnstein.
  • Zucker: In vielen Futtermitteln und Leckerchen werden Zucker und andere Inhaltsstoffe verarbeitet, um es für die Hunde attraktiver zu machen. Der Besitzer freut sich, dass es dem Hund schmeckt. Doch Folge dessen sind Karies und Zahnbelag.
  • Zu wenig Bewegung: Ist ein Hund aktiv in Bewegung fängt er, in der Regel, irgendwann leicht an zu hecheln und es bildet sich vermehrt Speichel. Die Reinigung der Zähne durch Speichel und Zunge sind ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Maulhygiene. Das Gleiche gilt für Hunde, die sehr wenig trinken und eine trockene Maulhöhle haben. Bakterien können sich zu diesen Bedingungen leichter vermehren und Plaque bilden.

Symptome und Diagnose

Bei dem einen Hund ist es mehr, bei dem anderen weniger. Besonders oft betroffen sind die Backen-, Reiß- und Eckzähne des Oberkiefers. Du solltest dir zuerst ein Bild des Gebisses deines Hundes machen bevor du mit der Pflege beginnst. Wie viel Zahnstein hat er? Sollten die Zähne professionell gereinigt werden? 

  • Zahnfarbe: Die Zähne deines Hundes sollten größtenteils weiß sein. Auf der ein oder anderen Stelle dürfen durchaus leichte Verfärbungen vorhanden sein. Doch bildet sich auf einigen Zähnen bereits eine braune, dicke Schicht ist es ein Hinweis darauf, dass sich Zahnstein oder Zahnbelag bildet. 
  • Zahnfleisch: Das an die Zähne angrenzende Zahnfleisch sollte immer rosa gefärbt sein. Nach Stress oder Anstrengung ist es natürlich etwas dunkler. Bei Zähnen mit Belag oder sogar Zahnstein wirst du feststellen, ist der Rand des Zahnfleisches stark gerötet und gereizt. Oft fängt es schon bei kleinster Berührung an zu bluten, da es durch die Bakterien, die sich auf dem Belag befinden, entzündet ist.
  • Geruch: Hat ein Hund sehr starken Zahnstein, entwickelt dieser einen extremen Geruch aus dem Maul. Sowohl der Belag der Zähne als auch die Entzündungen des Zahnfleisches riechen stark!
  • Probleme beim Kauen: Zähne die über eine lange Zeit in einem sehr schlechten Zustand sind verursachen langfristig natürlich Schmerzen. Daher vermeiden betroffene Hunde meist hartes Futter, speicheln oder verweigern das Fressen ganz. 

Es gibt viele verschiedene Möglichkeiten zur Zahnpflege deines Hundes. Vorab solltest du gemeinsam mit einem Tierarzt die Zähne deines Hundes beurteilen. Unsere Tierärzte schauen sich gerne die Maulhöhle deines Vierbeiners bei einem Videoanruf an und beraten dich zum weiteren Vorgehen.

Oft reiben Hunde mit Zahnschmerzen mit den Pfoten am Maul oder mit der Schnauze an Möbeln entlang. Auch Schwellungen des Gesichtes oder der Nase können auf ein Zahnproblem oder Zahnstein hinweisen. In diesem Fall ist längst Zeit zu handeln! 

Therapie und Vorbeugung

Auch wenn dein Hund bereits schlechte Zähne haben sollte, ist es nicht zu spät etwas zu tun. Hier die 5 effektivsten Möglichkeiten:

  1. Professionelle Zahnreinigung: Je nach Zustand der Zähne ist es möglich, dass die Zähne bevor du sie selber Pflegen kannst, einmal professionell beim Tierarzt gereinigt werden müssen. Dies passiert, wie auch bei uns Menschen, mit einem Ultraschallscaler, der den Zahnstein effektiv vom Zahn löst. Wird eine solche Behandlung vorgenommen, ist es sinnvoll die Zähne im Anschluss polieren zu lassen. Die dadurch entstehende glatte Oberfläche ist weniger anfällig für Zahnbelag. 
  2. Zähne putzen: Egal ob nach einer Zahnreinigung oder zur Vorbeugung von Zahnstein bei Hunden ist es empfehlenswert seinen Hunden die Zähne zu putzen. Da die Ernährung der Hunde heutzutage nicht mehr der eines Wolfes entspricht, hat sich auch die mechanische Zahnreinigung beim Kauen von Beutetieren geändert. Es gibt viele verschiedene Möglichkeiten auf dem Markt, vom Zahn-Fingerling bis hin zur elektronischen Ultraschallzahnbürste. Wichtig ist ausschließlich eine für Hunde vorgesehene Zahnpasta zu verwenden! Zahnpasta für Menschen enthält Inhaltsstoffe die für Hunde giftig sind. Hierzu beraten dich gerne unsere Tierärzte. 
  3. Kauartikel: Jeder Hund sollte 1-2x pro Woche einen Kauartikel bekommen, mit dem sie ihre Zähne ordentlich reinigen. Der Kauartikel sollte natürlich der Größe deines Hundes entsprechen und bei gierigen Hunden nicht leicht zu verschlucken sein. Hierzu bietet sich sehr gut Rinderkopfhaut, Schweineohren oder ähnliche Produkte aus getrockneter Haut oder Knorpel an. 
  4. Kauspielzeug: Auch die Spielzeugabteilung der Hunde bietet mittlerweile einiges an Zahnpflegeprodukten. Angefangen mit Kunststoffspielzeugen mit Strukturen, die den Zahn putzen sollen bis hin zur Holzwurzel (aus dem Fachhandel) die Aufgrund ihrer Struktur den Belag beseitigt. Hierbei ist zu beachten was für den Hund interessant ist und auch genutzt wird. Vorteil ist, der Hund ist beschäftigt ohne zu fressen. 
  5. Zahnpflegeprodukte: Neben der mechanischen Zahnreinigung gibt es auch viele weitere Produkte z.B. unser Anti-Plaque Pulver, das man in das Futter gibt.

Schlechte Zähne und eine schlechte Maulhygiene bei Hunden kann langfristig Folgeschäden verursachen. Das dauerhafte Abschlucken der Bakterien verursacht schwerwiegende Schäden am Herzen!

Dr. Sam ist dein zuverlässiger Tierarzt und ist 365 Tage im Jahr für dich da. Neben der Beratungsleistungen bietet Dr. Sam auch Produkte für euch an.

Stelle deine Frage direkt per WhatsApp einem Tierarzt!
Jetzt chatten