Fleas in dogs: How do you avoid a flea infestation?

Does your dog have fleas? In the following article you will learn about the causes, symptoms and treatment options if your four-legged friend suffers from a flea infestation. You should act as quickly as possible to remove the fleas from your dog. Dr Sam also has a flea and tick product in his range. With this you can protect your dog from the parasites as a preventative measure.


Article from
Mag. med. vet. Lea Weiss
Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM
Table of contents

What is a dog flea?

The dog flea(Ctenocephalis canis and felis) belongs to the wingless insects. It reaches a body length of two to four millimetres and is brown to black in colour. Its body has a laterally flattened shape. The extremely strong hind legs allow it to jump extremely fast and far. Its head has powerful mouthparts for sucking blood.

A special feature of the parasites is that they are mainly found in the surrounding area. There they lay their eggs within the first 48 hours. One female flea produces up to 50 eggs a day! The flea larva develops over three stages into a pupa and finally into an adult insect. The parasites usually only visit their host for a blood meal.

As a rule of thumb, only 5% of flea infestations affect the animal itself. On the other hand, 95% of the different stages of development are in the environment!

Cause of fleas in dogs

Although the various flea species bear names such as "dog flea", "human flea" or "rabbit flea", they are not host-specific. Instead, they suck blood wherever they can. Our dogs can therefore not only get infected from conspecifics, but also from other animal species. It is also possible that they "pick up" the bloodsuckers in nature.

Flea infestation is often associated by laypersons with a lack of hygiene. But even with the best care , our dogs can come into contact with the parasites: Even the daily gas rounds are an unavoidable risk. Flea bites do not only itch: they can also trigger allergic reactions. Moreover, the bloodsuckers often transmit diseases. They are not choosy in their choice of host, so they can spread to other pets and to humans. For these reasons, early detection and therapy are indicated.

In the online shop of Dr. SAM you will find effective spot-on preparationswhich reliably protect your quadrupeds from insect and tick infestation. The application is simple and safe: carefully parting the hairs on your dog's neck so that you can see his skin. Now drip the contents of the Spot-On-Tube directly onto the skin. The protective effect lasts for a month.

Symptoms of flea infestation

Infestation with fleas results in these top 5 symptoms:

  1. Increased scratching, nibbling and licking of the coat
  2. skin wounds and crusts as a result of scratching
  3. restlessness, irritability
  4. Black spots in the coat
  5. redness, pustules and eczema of the skin

The first symptom in dogs is usually severe itching. On closer inspection, black spots can be seen in the coat or combed out. These are the excrements of the adult parasites.
Dogs react differently to contact with flea saliva. Particularly sensitive animals can develop clear skin symptoms such as pustules and rashes even at a low level of infestation.

If the flea infestation remains untreated over a longer period of time, various consequential damages are possible:

  • dull coat, hair breakage
  • hair loss, bald spots
  • Purulent skin inflammations
  • Anaemia

The coat changes are mainly caused by the severe itching, to which infected dogs react with violent scratching. Allergic skin reactions and scratching wounds are also intensively licked. The bacteria contained in the dog's saliva penetrate the skin lesions and can lead to severe, sometimes purulent inflammation. In severely affected dogs and puppies,anaemia can develop as a result of blood deprivation.

Flea diagnosis

  • Flea diagnosis is very straightforward; you can even make it at home. Comb or brush your dog's fur over a white kitchen roll until you have caught some of the black particles. Now you moisten the kitchen paper. If the particles turn red, they are digested blood and flea droppings. With a little luck, you might even catch a flea. This works especially well with a special flea comb.
  • In case of doubt, the veterinarian uses the microscope to determine whether the insect he has caught is actually a flea.

Therapy options when dog has fleas

One of the most common mistakes in therapy is to treat only the diseased animal. However, flea eggs, larvae and pupae as well as adult fleas can survive in the environment for months. In this case, they return to their host as soon as he no longer receives medication. Alternatively, they switch to other animals or humans living in the same household.

Source: BOYDTRIPHOTO/Shutterstock.com
  • Treatment of the dog: A number of antiparasitics are available to treat dogs for flea infestation: Various spot-ons, tablets and sprays kill existing ectoparasites within 24 hours and protect the animal from a new infestation. Dr. SAM will be happy to advise you on the correct application. At the same time, it is recommended for dogs with flea infestation to have a DewormingThe tablets are also recommended for dogs with flea infestations, as the parasites often transmit the dog tapeworm(Dipylidium caninum) when they suck blood.
  • Treatment of other pets: This measure is also essential for the flea treatment to be successful. But beware: some parasite remedies are poisonous to certain animal species! Be sure to discuss with your vet which medicines you may use and with whom.
  • Environmental treatment Flea treatment is only successful if the environment is taken into account. The most important measures include:
  1. Thorough vacuuming
  2. Washing of blankets, pillows, covers, floor mats and so on
  3. Cleaning of cracks, crevices and other "retreat places

After vacuuming and cleaning the flat, spraying with special products is recommended: Carpet and sofa n ooks are particularly popular places for fleas to hide.
The environmental treatment must cover the entire flat as well as all of the dog's usual places of residence outside of your flat. If necessary, do not forget the car, the office and the doghouse in the garden.
Remember that the parasites can survive in the hoover and get back into the environment. Therefore, dispose of the bag directly outside your home.
If fleas have spread massively in the environment, the only thing that helps is the use of a Foggers. This is placed centrally in an elevated position and sprays the entire area. All terrariums, aquariums and food must be removed from the room during this time and pets must not be allowed in the room. Depending on the manufacturer, such Fogger for a certain number of square metres.

Preventive measures against fleas in dogs

You can get special preparations from your vet to protect your four-legged friend against flea infestation. For example, flea collars and spot-on preparations are available. In Dr. SAM's online shop you will find excellently effective Spot-On products and Foggerwhich are also very easy to use. Their effect lasts for a month. At the same time, your pet is protected against ticks.

Fleas are an extremely annoying problem forboth the affected dogs and their owners. The therapy is lengthy and time-consuming, as it must include the dog's entire environment. In addition, the bloodsuckers can transmit a number of diseases and pass them on to humans. It is therefore worth taking effective prophylactic measures and avoiding parasite infestation in the first place.

If you are unsure and would like to learn more about Dr. SAM - just click on the link and you will receive further insights into our work.

Kind regards,
Mag. med. vet. Lea Weiss
- Veterinarian with Dr. SAM

Table of contents
Article from
Mag. med. vet. Lea Weiss
Veterinary surgeon with Dr. SAM
SPEAK NOW VET AT WHATSAPP

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.
  1. asdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg sad sdf dsf sdf shdf kjsdhf ksdkhf jdhjfskjdfhsjkdfh sdf hsfhsdjkf hsjkdfh sdfh sjkdfh sjdhfjsdf hjskdhf sjdfh sjd hfsdfh jsdhfjkshdfj hjsdhf sjdfh sd fsd fhksjd hfjshdf jkhdsjkhf jskdh fsdjkhf
  2. asdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg
  3. asdasdasdsad
  4. asdasd

  • sad sfd gfdh fdg asd sdf ffgh dg hd dfgfdgdfgdfgdfgfd g g g fd g dfg fd gfd gfd gfd fdg df gfd gd fg d fgd fgd df gdf gd fg df gdfg fdg fdfdg df gdf g dfg df df gdgf
  • fd
  • gdfg
  • df
  • g d
  • fg
  • df

What's a Rich Text element?

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.

Static and dynamic content editing

A rich text element can be used with static or dynamic content. For static content, just drop it into any page and begin editing. For dynamic content, add a rich text field to any collection and then connect a rich text element to that field in the settings panel. Voila!

How to customize formatting for each rich text

Headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, figures, images, and figure captions can all be styled after a class is added to the rich text element using the "When inside of" nested selector system.

More articles

More knowledge

Still unsure?
Talk to one of Dr. SAM's vets right away.

Talk to your vet now using WhatsApp
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

At the moment Dr. SAM is at night and is not available.

Our daily office hours are
Monday through Sunday: 8am

- midnight Love,
your team of Dr. SAM

Ask your question directly to a vet via WhatsApp!
Chat now

Flöhe: Wie schützt du deinen Hund vor den Parasiten?

Flöhe sind für Mensch und Tier eine lästige Angelegenheit. In diesem Artikel erfährst du, welche Vorbeugungsmaßnahmen du treffen kannst; und was zu tun ist, wenn es deinen Hund doch einmal juckt.


Artikel von
Mag. med. vet. Lea Weiss
Tierarzt/Tierärztin bei Dr. SAM
Inhaltsverzeichnis

Definition

Der Floh (Ctenocephalis canis und felis) gehört zu den flügellosen Insekten. Er erreicht eine Körperlänge von zwei bis vier Millimetern und weist eine braune bis schwarze Färbung auf. Sein Körper besitzt eine seitlich abgeplattete Form. Die äußerst kräftigen Hinterbeine erlauben ihm enorm schnelle und weite Sprünge. An seinem Kopf finden sich kräftige Mundwerkzeuge zum Blutsaugen.

Eine Besonderheit der Schmarotzer besteht darin, dass sie sich überwiegend in der Umgebung aufhalten. Dort legen sie bereits in den ersten 48 Stunden ihre Eier ab. Ein Flohweibchen produziert bis zu 50 Eier am Tag! Die Flohlarve entwickelt sich über drei Stadien zur Puppe und schließlich zum adulten Insekt. Ihren Wirt suchen die Schmarotzer meist nur für die Blutmahlzeit auf.

Als Faustregel gilt: Nur 5 % des Flohbefalls betreffen das Tier selber. Dagegen befinden sich 95 % der verschiedenen Entwicklungsstadien in der Umgebung!

Ursache

Obwohl die verschiedenen Flohspezies Bezeichnungen wie "Hunde-," "Menschen-" oder "Kaninchenfloh" tragen, sind sie nicht wirtsspezifisch. Stattdessen saugen sie Blut, wo sich ihnen die Möglichkeit bietet. Unsere Hunde können sich daher nicht nur bei Artgenossen infizieren, sondern auch bei anderen Tierarten. Ebenso ist es möglich, dass sie die Blutsauger in der Natur "aufsammeln".

Flohbefall wird vom Laien häufig mit mangelnder Hygiene in Verbindung gebracht. Doch auch bei der besten Pflege können unsere Hunde mit den Parasiten in Kontakt kommen: Bereits die täglichen Gassirunden sind ein unvermeidbares Risiko. Flohbisse jucken nicht nur: Sie können auch allergische Reaktionen auslösen. Zudem übertragen die Blutsauger oftmals Krankheiten. Bei der Wahl ihres Wirts sind sie nicht wählerisch; sie können also auf andere Haustiere sowie den Menschen überspringen. Aus diesen Gründen sind eine frühzeitige Erkennung und Therapie angezeigt.

Im Onlineshop von Dr. SAM findest du wirksame Spot-On-Präparate, die deine Vierbeiner zuverlässig vor einem Insekten- und Zeckenbefall schützen. Die Anwendung ist einfach und sicher: Scheitle die Haare im Nacken deines Hundes vorsichtig, sodass du seine Haut sehen kannst. Nun träufelst du den Inhalt der Spot-On-Tube direkt dort auf. Die Schutzwirkung hält für einen Monat an.

Symptome und Diagnose

Der Befall mit Flöhen hat diese Top 5 Symptome zur Folge:

  1. Vermehrtes Kratzen, Beknabbern und Belecken des Fells
  2. Hautwunden und -krusten infolge des Kratzens
  3. Unruhe, Reizbarkeit
  4. Schwarze Punkte im Fell
  5. Rötungen, Pusteln und Ekzeme der Haut

Das erste Symptom beim Hund ist in der Regel ein starker Juckreiz. Bei genauem Hinsehen lassen sich schwarze Punkte im Fell erkennen oder auskämmen. Dabei handelt es sich um den Kot der ausgewachsenen Parasiten.
Hunde reagieren unterschiedlich stark auf den Kontakt mit Flohspeichel. Besonders empfindliche Tiere können schon bei einem geringen Befall deutliche Hautsymptome wie Pusteln und Ausschläge entwickeln.

Wenn der Flohbefall über einen längeren Zeitraum unbehandelt bleibt, sind verschiedene Folgeschäden möglich:

  • Glanzloses Fell, Haarbruch
  • Haarausfall, kahle Stellen
  • Eitrige Hautentzündungen
  • Blutarmut (Anämie)

Die Fellveränderungen kommen vor allem durch den starken Juckreiz zustande, auf den befallene Hunde mit heftigem Kratzen reagieren. Allergische Hautreaktionen und Kratzwunden werden zudem intensiv beleckt. Die im Hundespeichel enthaltenen Bakterien dringen in die Hautverletzungen ein und können zu schweren, mitunter eitrigen Entzündungen führen. Bei stark befallenen Hunde sowie Welpen kann sich durch den Blutentzug eine Blutarmut (Anämie) entwickeln.

Diagnose

  • Die Diagnose von Flöhen ist sehr unkompliziert; du kannst sie sogar zu Hause stellen. Kämme oder bürste das Fell deines Hundes über einem weißen Küchenpapier, bis du einige der schwarzen Partikel aufgefangen hast. Nun feuchtest du das Küchenpapier an. Färben sich die Partikel rot, handelt es sich um verdautes Blut und somit um Flohkot. Mit etwas "Glück" fängst du sogar einen Floh auf. Besonders gut funktioniert das mit einem speziellen Flohkamm.
  • Im Zweifelsfall stellt der Tierarzt mit dem Mikroskop fest, ob es sich bei dem aufgefangenen Insekt tatsächlich um einen Floh handelt.

Therapie

Einer der häufigsten Fehler bei der Therapie besteht darin, lediglich das erkrankte Tier zu behandeln. Die Floheier, -larven und -puppen sowie die adulten Flöhe können jedoch über Monate hinweg in der Umgebung überleben. In diesem Fall kehren sie auf ihren Wirt zurück, sobald er keine Medikamente mehr erhält. Alternativ weichen sie auf andere Tiere oder Menschen aus, die im selben Haushalt leben.

  • Behandlung des Hundes: Um Hunde gegen den Flohbefall zu behandeln, stehen eine Reihe von Antiparasitika zur Verfügung: Verschiedene Spot-Ons, Tabletten und Sprays töten vorhandene Ektoparasiten innerhalb von 24 Stunden ab und schützen das Tier vor einem erneuten Befall. Dr. SAM berät dich gerne zur richtigen Anwendung. Gleichzeitig empfiehlt sich für Hunde mit Flohbefall eine Entwurmung, da die Schmarotzer beim Blutsaugen oftmals den Hundebandwurm (Dipylidium caninum) übertragen.
  • Behandlung anderer Haustiere: Auch diese Maßnahme ist unerlässlich, damit die Flohbehandlung erfolgreich ist. Aber Achtung: Einige Parasitenmittel sind für bestimmte Tierarten giftig! Besprich unbedingt mit deinem Tierarzt, welche Medikamente du bei wem anwenden darfst.
  • Umgebungsbehandlung: Eine Flohbehandlung ist nur dann erfolgversprechend, wenn die Umgebung dabei miteinbezogen wird. Zu den wichtigsten Maßnahmen gehören:
  1. Gründliches Saugen
  2. Waschen von Decken, Kissen, Bezügen, Fußmatten und so weiter
  3. Reinigen von Ritzen, Spalten und sonstigen „Rückzugsorten“

Nach dem Saugen und Reinigen der Wohnung empfiehlt sich das Einsprühen mit speziellen Mitteln: Insbesondere Teppich- und Sofaritzen sind beliebte Rückzugsorte von Flöhen.
Die Umgebungsbehandlung muss sich auf die gesamte Wohnung sowie alle üblichen Aufenthaltsorte des Hundes außerhalb deiner Wohnung erstrecken. Dabei dürfen gegebenenfalls auch das Auto, der Liegeplatz im Büro und die Hundehütte im Garten nicht vergessen werden.
Denke daran, dass die Schmarotzer im Staubsauger überleben und zurück in die Umgebung gelangen können. Entsorge den Beutel daher direkt außerhalb deiner Wohnung.
Wenn Flöhe sich massiv in der Umgebung verbreitet haben, hilft nur der Einsatz eines Foggers. Dieser wird zentral auf einen erhöhten Platz gestellt und besprüht die ganze Umgebung. Sämtliche Terrarien, Aquarien und Lebensmittel müssen in der Zeit aus dem Raum entfernt werden und Haustiere dürfen sich nicht in diesem Raum aufhalten. Je nach Hersteller, eignen sich solche Fogger für eine bestimmte Quadratmeterzahl.

Vorbeugung

Beim Tierarzt erhältst du spezielle Präparate, mit denen du deinen Vierbeiner vor einem Flohbefall schützen kannst. Hierzu stehen dir beispielsweise Flohhalsbänder sowie Spot-On-Präparate zur Verfügung. Im Onlineshop von Dr. SAM findest du hervorragend wirksame Spot-On-Produkte, die noch dazu kinderleicht anwendbar sind. Ihre Wirkung hält einen Monat lang an. Gleichzeitig ist dein Liebling damit vor Zecken geschützt.

Flöhe sind sowohl für die betroffenen Hunde als auch für deren Besitzer ein äußerst lästiges Problem. Die Therapie ist langwierig und zeitaufwändig, da sie die komplette Umgebung des Hundes mit einschließen muss. Darüber hinaus können die Blutsauger eine Reihe von Krankheiten übertragen und auf den Menschen übertreten. Es lohnt sich daher, wirksame Prophylaxemaßnahmen zu ergreifen und den Parasitenbefall von vornherein zu vermeiden.

Bist du dir unsicher und würdest du gern mehr über Dr. SAM erfahren - klicke einfach den Link an und erhalte weitere Einblicke in unsere Arbeit.

Liebe Grüße,
Mag. med. vet. Lea Weiss
- Tierarzt bei Dr. SAM

Inhaltsverzeichnis
Artikel von
Mag. med. vet. Lea Weiss
Tierarzt/Tierärztin bei Dr. SAM
JETZT TIERARZT IM WHATSAPP SPRECHEN

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.
  1. asdasdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg sad sdf dsf sdf shdf kjsdhf ksdkhf jdhjfskjdfhsjkdfh sdf hsfhsdjkf hsjkdfh sdfh sjkdfh sjdhfjsdf hjskdhf sjdfh sjd hfsdfh jsdhfjkshdfj hjsdhf sjdfh sd fsd fhksjd hfjshdf jkhdsjkhf jskdh fsdjkhf
  2. asdasdasd asd asd asd assd fdg fjk gdfgfdkjghfdjkghfdg
  3. asdasdasdsad
  4. asdasd

  • sad sfd gfdh fdg asd sdf ffgh dg hd dfgfdgdfgdfgdfgfd g g fd g dfg fd gfd gfd g fdg df gfd gd fg d fgd fgd df gdf gd fg df gdfg fdg fdfdg df gdf g dfg df df gdgf
  • fd
  • gdfg
  • df
  • g d
  • fg
  • df

What’s a Rich Text element?

The rich text element allows you to create and format headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, images, and video all in one place instead of having to add and format them individually. Just double-click and easily create content.

Static and dynamic content editing

A rich text element can be used with static or dynamic content. For static content, just drop it into any page and begin editing. For dynamic content, add a rich text field to any collection and then connect a rich text element to that field in the settings panel. Voila!

How to customize formatting for each rich text

Headings, paragraphs, blockquotes, figures, images, and figure captions can all be styled after a class is added to the rich text element using the "When inside of" nested selector system.

Noch unsicher?
Sprich sofort mit einem Tierarzt von Dr. SAM

Jetzt Tierarzt per WhatsApp sprechen
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Zur Zeit ist Dr. SAM in der Nachtruhe und ist nicht verfügbar.

Unsere täglichen Sprechzeiten lauten:
Montag bis Sonntag: 8 - 24Uhr

Liebe Grüße,
dein Team von Dr. SAM

Stelle deine Frage direkt per WhatsApp einem Tierarzt!
Jetzt chatten